guests at WARNER's Hotel, Christchurch 1892 :: Genealogy
<< Previous - Next >>

guests at WARNER's Hotel, Christchurch 1892

Journal by ngairedith

from the site WARNER's HOTEL in 50 Cathedral Square, Christchurch is the site of a hotel established in 1863. The original building, extended on numerous occasions, burned down in 1900. The current building was built in 1901. Again, it has undergone numerous alterations. A fourth storey was added in 1910 and the northern end of the building was demolished in 1917 and a theatre built in its place to create a noise buffer to the printing presses of the adjoining Lyttelton Times Building. The theatre was demolished in 1996 and patrons enjoyed a beer garden. In 2010, a high rise hotel opened on the site of the beer garden and in the process, the historical and symmetrical 1901 facade was recreated.

The Commercial and Dining Rooms were established by John Etherden Coker (18321894) in 1863 (John built the Coker's Hotel in 1878).

William Francis Warner (18361896) was the third proprietor from April 1874, when it was originally known as the Commercial Hotel.

Warner, described as "the patriarch among licensed victuallers in Christchurch", drowned in a boating accident on the Avon Heathcote Estuary in 1896. The three resulting funerals, William Francis Warner (1835-1896), James Murray (1864-1896, licensee of the New Brighton Hotel) & Francis Herbert Stewart (1868-1896, Guard on the New Brighton Tram) were a big event in Christchurch, and Prime Minister Richard Seddon sent flowers to Warner's funeral

Visitors to Christchurch in NOV 1892 staying at the White Hart Hotel

Mr L. W. ATKINSON, Pukanhui, Taranaki

Mr Charles BA?TES, Timaru
Mr A. BARRON, Wellington
Mr D. James BARRON, Waiau
Mr Walter BENTLEY, Edinburgh
Mr T. W. BORNE, Invercargill
Mr Alexander BRUCE. Sydney

Mr D. CAMERON, Wellington
Mr & Mrs Duncan CAMERON and maid, Springfield, Methven
Mr Hugh CASSIDY, Springfield
Mr T. CHAPMAN, Mt. Palm
Mr Robert COBB, Palmerston North
Mr John A. COOK, Dunedin
Mr T. R. R. COOPER, Napier
Mr W. H. CULLEN, Dunedin
Mr Charles Adam Cleverly CUNNINGHAM (1850-1915), Christchurch

Mr Adolphus DAVIS, Auckland
Mr A. DOUGLAS, Timaru
Mr W. DOUGLAS, Napier

Hon Henry FELDWICK, M.L.A., Invercargill
Mr & Mrs Max FRIEDLANDER (1851-1934) and maid, Ashburton
Mr Rudolph FRIEDLANDER, Ashburton (1847-1929) go to link at Max

Mr P. L. GILKINSON, Invercargill
Mr John GORDON, Auckland
Mr P. R. GORDON, Brisbane
Mr Melville GRAY, Timaru
Mr & Mrs G. D. GREENWOOD, Teviotdale

Mr R. E. HALL, Port Levy
Mr T. H. HAMER, Wellington
Mr W. N. HAMLIN, Gisborne
Mr Thomas E. HARRIS, Ireland
Mr James HARRISON, Clent Hills
Mr E. H. HART, Dunedin
Mr John HORRAX, Napier
R. HUNT, Sydney
Mr W. S. HURD, Gore

Mr Moss JONAS (1838-1907), Timaru

Mr E. W. KANE, Wellington
Mr C. K. Meredith KAYE, Timaru
Mr E. G. KERR, Timaru

Mrs & Miss LANCE, Horsley Downs
Mr C. M. LIPPER, Tipperton
Mr J. LITTLE, Taranaki
Mr T. H. LOWRY, Hawke's Bay

Mr A. MacFARLANE, Amuri
Mr W. MacFARLANE, Amuri
Mr D. McLEOD, Auckland
Hon George McLEAN, Dunedin
Mr & Mrs McMASTERS, Oamaru
Mr & Mrs R. M. McMASTERS, Oamaru
Mr R. McOWEN, Invercargill
Mr & Mrs George McRAE, Glens of Tekoa
Mr E. MENLOVE, Windsor Park
Mr J. N. MILLS, Dunedin
Mr James MILLS, Dunedin
Mr David MUNN, Napier

Mr N. NATHAN, Wellington
Mr Henry NEILL, Dunedin
Mr B. NEWMAN, Dunedin
Mr L. W. NORTH, Hawke's Bay

Mr E. C. O'CONNELL, Cust
Mr J. Allan OLIVER, Dunedin
Mr & Mrs OVERTON, Courtenay

Mr & Mrs PAUL, Wanganui
Mr R. M. PEMBERTON, Waikari
Mr T. A. PHILLIPS, Rakaia Gorge
Mr J. H. POLLOCK, Wellington
Mr W. POTTS, Amberley

Mr J. J. C. QUANE, Ashburton

Mr & Mrs W. RACHBONE, Waipawa
Mr C. W. REID, Oamaru
Mr J. B. REID, Oamaru
Mr John D. RITCHIE, Wellington
Mr W. ROBIN, Dunedin
Mr W. T. ROBINSON, Cheviot
Mr George RUTHERFORD, Dalethorpe

Mr George SCOTT, Gisborne
Mr W. B. SCOTT, White Rock
Mr W. A. SHIELDS, Dunedin
Mr W. J. SIMPSON, Bucclench
Mr A. L. SMITH, Dunedin
Mr Herbert SPRAGGE, Port Levy
Mr M. STITT, Ashburton

Mr & Mrs WHITE, Ohoka
Mrs WILSON, Culverden
Misses WILSON, Culverden
Mr F. C. WILSON, Wellington
Mr J. Cracroft WILSON, Culverden
Mr R. WILSON, Culverden
Mr Thomas WINGFIELD, Melbourne

Mr E. F. YUILL, Wellington

Mr & Mrs ZANDER, Ashburton

see also, the guests in Christchurch 1892, at the:
COKER's Hotel

- from left:
* Cathedral Chambers
* the Lyttelton Times building
* the Liberty theatre
* WARNER's HOTEL with the 4th story
* the CATHEDRAL (go to link at notes below)

after the Feb 2011 Christchurch earthquake
... In September 2011, Warner's Hotel became part of the political discussion that it should be retained, after the Canterbury Earthquake Recovery Authority had ordered its demolition
By early November 2011, WARNER's HOTEL had been demolished
... the CATHEDRAL as it was after the 2011 earthquake

by ngairedith Profile | Research | Contact | Subscribe | Block this user
on 2012-11-03 05:06:51


Do you know someone who can help? Share this:


Register or Sign in to comment on this journal.