<< Previous - Next >>

Me, My Family and mine

Journal by carolburns

Hi everyone

I am Carol Burns nee Thomas. I was born in April 1960 in St david's Hospital, Bangor North Wales and lived in Ty Croes , Anglesey with my Mum and Dad.

In 1964 we moved to York with dad's work and my sister was born in Oct 1964 followed by my brother in July 1972.

My Mum is Mair Owen b Anglesey and my Dad is Kenneth Gordon Thomas b Bangor

I am married to Pete for more years than we both care to remember (but more than 25!) and we have three children. Gareth is 25, Hayley is 23 and Lee is the baby of the family at 20. We lived in York close to my parents when Pete left the Army in 1984 and in 2001 we moved to Blackpool where we have a small Bed and Breakfast and Steak House. We have three Grandsons - Ryan 4, James 3, and Daniel 1.

I started doing my family tree about 10 years ago. My dad was doing his side so I decided to do Pete's as he didn't know of any relatives that were still around. His Dad had died when he was 4 and his Mum died when he was 10. He has 3 brothers and 2 sisters but none of them remembered much about other relatives especially Grandparents.

I started with his dad's birth date and went from there. I have since managed to find his dad's siblings and their children as well as going as far back as his Great Great Grandad in the direct line and back to 1478 with his Great Grandmothers family. There seem to be cousins popping out of the woodwork all the time now even thoughit has taken 9 years of searching constantly for them. Have you ever tried searching for Burns or Turnbull in Northumberland? lol Not easy at all.

I then started on his Mum's but have not been able to get too far back as the family were from Burma and not Military but we have managed to get back to 1780 with his Mum's Dad's family so that is good enough for me. Still more to find yet from that side

My dad asked me for help on his side and I corrected a few mistakes with a lot of researching but we now seem to have got a lot further back than he had on his own. My Mum's side has also been incorporated and this has gone back to 1800's Again the problem has been the names - Owen, Griffith, Thomas and Jones all in Anglesey

But, luckily I love a challenge and this is one challenge that cannot be completed. I think this is why I have lasted so long at it and enjoy it so much. I get plenty of brick walls and go for months with nothing found at all but then all of a sudden they appear from nowehere and I am back on the path again

I would love to be able to say that I have a long list of other hobbies but I can't as I do not have time for other hobbies except reading.

Luckily I have a fantastic husband who sits there while I am excitedly telling him of my latest find. He has managed to make himself look as excited as I am, though I know deep down he is looking for an escape route!

I think he is happy enough that I am not one of those wives who is out constantly spending money or out drinking. I don't think he realises that sometimes that could be cheaper than Researching lol. Since starting he has had to buy me my own laptop (so I leave the business ocmputers alone), a digi camera (the family one hasn't enough memory), a printer (again the business one is safe) and an external harddrive of 250 GB as I had filled my Laptop and it wouldn't work properly. Now is shopping and drinking slightly cheaper as I thought it would be? lol

My tree, compared to many other peoples, is small at 2900 people but it is an achievement for me as I have had to work hard to find those I have.

I am classed as an "anorak" wearer by many but do I care? I don't think so. I'm happy with census images and birth entries to look through. Never mind your magazines about celebrities and what they have been doing - I would rather find out about our own celebrities (our ancestors) and what they had been doing

Thanks for reading and I look forward to hearing about you all

Carol

Surnames: NONE
Viewed: 986 times
by carolburns Profile | Research | Contact | Subscribe | Block this user
on 2006-06-18 14:09:06

carolburns , from Blackpool, Lancs, Uk but originally North Wales, has been a Family Tree Circles member since Jun 2006. is researching the following names: BURNS, THOMAS, WILLIAMS and 35 other(s).

Do you know someone who can help? Share this:

Comments

Register or Sign in to comment on this journal.