ngairedith on Family Tree Circles

sort: Date Alphabetical
view: full | list

Journals and Posts


*FEATHERSTON School - Wairarapa 1886

attendance at FEATHERSTON SCHOOL, Wairarapa 1886
Wairarapa Daily Times, 23 October 1886
The following are the names of the scholars who passed the various standards at the recent examinaiton by Mr Lee:-

STANDARD I
Lillie BENTON
Mary BEZAR
Charles CUNDY
Nita CUNDY
Winnie GREEKS
Lena JACKSON
Minnie KITCHING
Annie LAWRIE
John LAWRY
Gertrude MANNING
Margaret McGILL
Fred SMITH
Kenneth SPACKMAN
David TIDSWELL
Harry TOODGOOD
Thomas WILLIS
Thomas WORSLEY

STANDARD II
Wilmore ABBOT (Edwin Wilmore Abbott 1878-1912)
Bertha BURT
John CHISHOLM
Louisa GAZELEY
Sarah HANWICK
Alfred HODDER
Jep JANSEN
Bertha KEYS
William McSHANE
Maria SHEEN
Ernest O'NEALE
George OSMAN
Ernest ROBERTSON
Maud WILKINSON
Herbert WILMSHURST
Langworth YELVERTON

STANDARD III
Kate ABBOT
William ABBOT
James BURT
Kenneth BURT
Harriet COE
Oswald DENTON
Charles Edward BEZAR (Charles Edwin Bezar 1877-1959)
William BUNNY
George BURT
Grace CUNDY
James CURRIE
Henry FURLONG (Henry O'Bernie Furlong 1874-1918)
James GAZLEY (James Thomas Gazley 1874-1958)
Mabel KEYS
Joseph Thomas LAWRIE
Sarah MANN
Grace MONKTON
Margaret MURPHY
Stafford MURPHY
Fred O'NEALE
Mabel O'NEALE
William OSMAN
Lena RIDDICK
Jessie ROBERTSON
Thomas SAUNDERS
Bertha SPACKMAN
Mabel SPACKMAN
Augustus TORSTONSON (+ Christina Margaret DALZIEL 1904)
Gotfried TORSTONSEN
Hector URQUHART
Arthur VILES
William WHITEMAN
Walter WILKINSON
Emily WORSLEY
Mary WORSLEY
George YULE

STANDARD IV
Augustus ABBOTT (Augustus Oswald Abbott 1876-1944)
Laura BUNNING
James CRAIG
Mabel CUNDY
George FELLINGHAM
Samuel GREATBATCH (Samuel Greatbatch 1874-1915)
William HODDER
Nora MacSHANE
Daniel McGILL
Annie MURPHY
Henry MURPHY
Mary O'NEALE
Claude SPACKMAN (Claude Spackman 1873-1955)
George TOOGOOD
Susan TOOGOOD
Albert VILES

STANDARD V
Frederick BEZAR (Frederick William Cezar 1871-1955)
Charles BURT
Bessie DONALD
Louis KEYS (Louis Thea Keys 1874-1956)
Clara MacSHANE
Charles READ
Nellie RIDDICK
Ellery TOOGOOD (Ellery William Channing Toogood 1871-1956)
Walter VILES (Walter Franklyn Viles 1871-1963)
Kate WILLIS
Grace YULE

STANDARD VI
Bertram BUNNY (Bertram Rutherford Bunny 1873-1928)
Herbert KEYS (Herbert Edward Keys 1874-1954)
Samuel McDOUGALL
Donald ROBERTSON
Edward SAUNDERS
Wallace SMITH
Robert YULE


also see Featherston School
written in 1957 to mark the centenary of Featherston
... When Featherston was founded in 1857, the Provincial Government was responsible for education and it was under an act passed in 1855 that the frrst public school in Featherston was founded in 1863, with Mr. J. G. Cox as teacher
... In July, 1880 the original school building in Featherston was burnt down. It was on the site in Fox Street opposite the Town Hall, on part of the acre of Education Reserve set aside by the Provincial Government. The story is that the school cleaner was in the habit of using wooden box to hold the ashes from the fireplace. On this occasion she neglected to take the box outside so that, early in the evening, Featherston was called out to see its school totally destroyed. This is one of the earliest memories of some of the oldest inhabitants. Even a well in the school grounds did not enable the school to be saved
... The board acted promptly and on August 25, the tender of Messrs. Riddick & Cadenhead, 772 10s was accepted and in January, 1881, the new school was opened - a well-built three-roomed building


PHOTO
FEATHERSTON SCHOOL in 1898
taken from the link above
includes a number of the names here


*John BARKER + Emily Ann BINGHAM

John BARKER (1859-1898) was (thanks to Selah's comment below) a son of William BARKER & Rebecca BROWN (possibly from North Clifton, Nottinghamshire, England. Still researching). He married Emily Ann BINGHAM (1861-1918). Emily was born in Sheffield, Yorkshire, England.
They lived in Kingsland, Mt Eden & Helensville, Auckland
After the death of her husband John, Emily moved to Taupiri, Waikato and there became the Postmistress

see Selah's comments below that John Barker may have been John Corser Barker
BUT, IF John Corser Barker (born Bridgnorth, Shropshire, England, a son of John BARKER & Frances LOWE) had died in 1898 he would have been 50
*BDM, Accident Witnesses & newspapers of the day say that John Barker was about 38. The 1851 census for John Corser Barker has:
Frances Corser Barker aged 9 born Shifnal
Sarah Barker aged 5 born Bridgnorth
John Corser Barker aged 3 born Bridgnorth
plus a governess and a cook

THEREFORE I am going to follow my original line and presume that it was John Barker and not John Corser Barker but any, and all, help appreciated


JOHN & EMILY had 8 children:
... 1

1881 - 1979 Lillian Emily Bingham Barker
- Lillian was born 23 August 1881 in Onehunga, Auckland
(Lillian needs more research. She was possibly the daughter of Emily Ann Bingham prior to her marriage. Conceived late 1880, John arriving in NZ 1881/2)
- Emily married Peter HALL on 4 April 1904 in Taupiri
- Peter was born 2 September 1876 in Taupiri, the 3rd of 12 children of Jeffrey HALL & Katrina Marie THOMPSON
- the known children of LILLIAN & PETER:
1905 - 1966 John Jeffrey Hall
1908 - 1978 Clarence Bingham Hall
PETER died 7 Sep 1936 in Whangaripo, Mahurangi aged 60 (& 5 days). He is buried Area 4 Block P Lot No 247 at Hillsborough
- his inscription reads "In loving memory of Peta beloved husband of Lillian E. Hall died 7 Sept 1936 aged 59 yrs"
LILLIAN died 30 September 1979 aged 98

John & Emily married 20 July 1887

... 2
1888 - 1971 Amy Sarah Barker
- Amy was born 8 May 1888
- she married Richard McINTOSH (1887-1949) in 1931
JOHN died 3 July 1949 aged 62
- he is buried WESLEY DIVISION F Row 3, Plot 44 Waikumete
AMY died 18 March 1871 in Auckland & was cremated at Waikumete


... 3
1889 - 1972 George William Barker
- George was born 9 April 1889 aged 82
- he was a Grocer & Commercial Traveller
- spouse unknown
- he served in WWI as Private 48430 with the NZEF, 26th Reinforcements E Company. He embarked from Wellington 12 June 1917, his next of kin was his mother Emily Ann at 47 Walters Road, Kingsland, Auckland
GEORGE died 19 December 1972 aged 83
- he is buried SOLDIERS BURIAL M Row 11, Plot 133 at Waikumete


... 4
1891 - Winnifred May Barker
- Winnifred was born 22 September 1891
- spouse not found


... 5
1894 - 1953 Lucy Flora Barker
- Lucy was born 10 January 1894
- Lucy married Frank JESSOP (1878-1957) 6 December 1922 in Auckland
New Zealand Herald, 23 December 1922 JESSOP-BARKER - On December 6, at Trinity Methodist Church, Kingsland (Mt Eden, Auckland), by the Rev H. Ranston, M.A., Frank, third son of the late Robert Jessop (Wes. Meth. missionary, Manchester), to Lucy Flora, fourth daughter of the late Mr and Mrs J. Barker, Walters Road, Kingsland
- Flora & Frank were divorced in Auckland 17 Nov 1927
- Lucy next married Percy Daniel MULLINS (1895-1972) on 20 Aug 1928
- they lived in Miramar, Wellington for a time. Percy was cremated at Karori


... 6
1895 - 1974 John Mervyn Clifton Barker
- John was born 25 March 1895 in Helensville, Auckland
- he served in WWI as Sapper 26373 with the NZEF, 14th Reinforcements New Zealand Engineers. He embarked from Wellington 26 June 1916, his next of kin was his mother Emily Ann Barker of 47 Walters Road, Kingsland, Auckland
- John married Christina Sarah ARMSTRONG (1894-1983) in 1920
- daughter of Leonard John ARMSTRONG & Eliza Jane BISHOP & sister of Sydney who married John's sister Vera
- they had 4? children
JOHN died 1974 in Auckland
CHRISTINA died 1983 in New Lynn, Auckland


... 7
1896 - 1981 Vera Lois Barker
- Vera was born 4 July 1896 in Helensville
- Vera married Sydney Albert ARMSTRONG (1897-1969) 7 Feb 1922 in Kingsland
- son of Leonard John ARMSTRONG & Eliza Jane BISHOP & brother of Christina who married Vera's brother John
- Leonard & Eliza also had a son, Percy Thomas Armstrong who was KILLED IN ACTION in Havrincourt, France 9 Sept 1918)
- Vera & Sydney had 6 children
SYDNEY was a Carpenter, he died 9 May 1969 in Auckland aged 72
- he was cremated at Waikumete
VERA died 2 Nov 1981 in Auckland aged 85 as Ms Armstrong, a Pensioner
- she was cremated at Waikumete


... 8
1898 - 1930 Arthur Alfred Bernard Barker
- Arthur was born 11 September 1898 in Taupiri, 9 months after his father's death
New Zealand Herald, 17 September 1898 BARKER - On September 11, at Taupiri, Waikato, wife of the late John Barker, late of Helensville, of a son
- he died in Auckland 14 April 1930 aged 31
Auckland Star, 15 April 1930 BARKER - On April 14, at Auckland Hospital, suddenly, Arthur Alfred Bernard, youngest son of the late Mr and Mrs J. Barker, aged 31 years. Funeral leaves 33 Mount Albert Road, at 2 p.m., Wednesday, for Waikumete
- he is buried NONCONFORMIST DIVISION C Row 5, Plot 32 at Waikumete with his mother


TIMELINE
In January 1875 John found the skeleton of Bridget Sullivan, an 11 year old girl who had gone missing in the bush 2 years previously. He found her in the bush whilst looking from his bullocks in the bush near Mahurangi Heads, North Auckland

Star, 3 January 1898 - A TRAIN DERAILED
... The train which left Auckland at 9.30 this morning on its way to Kaukapakapa was derailed between Rangiriri and Mercer (sic, later reports clarify the position of the derailment). The engine got off the rails, tumbled over a bank and rolled over and over. Three carriages wre derailed, and Barker, the Fireman, was reported to have got under the engine and was killed. The driver, P. Neville, jumped off the engine, escaping with a severe shaking. The guard, Manning, was not seriously hurt. None of the passengers were injured.
The theory of the accident is that heat caused expansion of the rails, which resulted in them buckling, as happened in the Woodville accident.
The Hon. Mitchelson was not a passenger on the train that met with the mishap, but by the up train to Helensville. Mr and Mrs Martin, of Kaukapakapa, who were passengers by the derailed train, had a miraculous escape

Otago Daily Times, 18 January 1898 An accident with fatal results occurred to-day to a train comprising six carriages which left Kanohi at 10.35a.m. for Helensville. On approaching Goodwin's bridge, 2 miles south of Kaukapakapa, the engine left the rails, turned completely over and rolled down the embankment into a ditch. The body of Barker was taken to Helensville. He leaves a widow and six children, who were waiting at the station when the trolly arrived with the body

Auckland Star, 4 January 1898 - THE INQUEST
... The inquest commenced at 10 o'clock this morning in the Terminus Hotel, the Coroner being Mr Robert Sinclair, J.P., and the jury as follows:- C. Newman (Foreman), Daniel Metge, James Mills, James Hughes, W. Ryall Fasbroke and John Hutchinson. Constable William Kelly represented the police. The Coronoer suggested that the jury should view the scene of the accident. Mr Biss said a special train was waiting to take the jury at once to the scene. The Foreman asked was it necessary. The coroner said he thought it advisable, as there was a good deal of outside talk. The jury left for the scene by special train at 10.50 o'clock and returned from the scene of the accident at 11.45.
The train, as seen by them, presents a most wrecked appearance. The engine is at present lying on one side, with a gang of men employed unshipping all removable parts, in order to lighten it as much as possible prioir to raising it on the truck. The cab of the engine was crumpled up by the force of the fall, and underneath it is a hole that was fug in order to release barker's leg. Behind the engine is the first carriage, practically reduced to matchwood, completely smashed up and lying on one side. The next carriage is also wrecked, and is lying on the same side of the line. The third carriage, being a bogey car, was canted the reverse way to the engine, and sustained practically very little damage;. The remaining cars and van were uninjured
Upon the jury resuming, the first witness called was Patrick Neville, driver of the engine, who deposed that he resided in Helensville and ran a train from Kanohi to Waikomiti. The deceased (John Barker) was his mate and fireman on the train on which the accident occurred. He thought deceased was about 36 years of age. He was married and had a family of seven children ... more

Thames Star, 5 January 1898 - THE VERDICT
... The inquest on Fireman Barker, who met his death in the railway accident on the Kaukapakapa line, was concluded last night. The jury retired at Twenty minutes past six, returning with the following verdict at twenty-five minutes to nine:- "That deceased, John Barker, met his death accidentally by the overturning of an engine on January 3rd near Kaukapakapa. The jury are of opinion the line where the accident occurred is insufficiently ballasted, and recommend a most searching enquiry to be made into the cause of the accident"

The case of Mrs Barker is a very hard one, as she is left with a large family. Her husband was not insured, having been refused when he applied.
His widow, however, benefits to the extent of about 70 from the railway employees' fund (equivalent in Jan 2013 to $12,450), which is raised amongst the workmen throughout the colony by a voluntary subscription of 1s per head. The residents of Helensville showed their practical sympathy with the widow in her trouble by starting a subscription, which was generously responded to

Thames Star, 5 January 1898 - DETAILS OF THE OCCURRENCE
... Fuller details with regard to the railway fatality yesterday between Helensville and Kaukapakapa disclose the fact that, bad as it was, the real wonder is that more lives were not sacrificed. The engine now lies turned almost upside down in a gully, and two carriages are literally smashed to pieces, one on each side of the line. Strange to say, although there were about twenty passengers on the train, only one of them was in the second carriage, and he was not injured. Both the carriages are derailed and smashed. The remaining passengers were in the third carriage that remained on the line owing to the shock of the buffers breaking the couplings. One of the passengers states that beyond feeling the sudden bump, none in his carriage knew what had happened until they got out of the carriage, and as a matter of fact none of the passengers appear able to give any evidence as to how the accident happened.
The engine-driver, Patrick Neville, appears to be the only one who really saw the cause of the accident. When on the level track about a mile this side of Kaukapakapa, he noticed the lines buckling about 40 yards in front of the train. He endeavoured to stop the train and reverse the engines, but it was too late, and almost immediately afterward the engine was thrown off the line near Goodwin's bridge.
Barker scalded to death (may be graphic to some) ... deceased was a married man, but unfortunately the widow is left with seven small children
NOTE 7 children are frequently mentioned as the 8th child, Arthur Alfred Bernard, was born 9 months after his father's death.
The other children were then aged:
Lillian Emily Bingham aged 16.4
Amy Sarah was aged 9.8
George William was 8.9
Winnifred May was 6.7
Lucy Flora was 4 years & 1 week
John Mervyn Clifton was 3.9
Vera Lois was 18 months

THE FUNERAL at Helensville
... Fully two hundred people attended the funeral of the deceased. A service was first held in the Wesleyan Church, the deceased being a teacher in the Sunday School. As Mr Barker was a Forester, the funeral was conducted by the brethren of that order, who marched in front of the coffin. The service at the grave was conducted by the Rev Mr Stephenson. The widow and her eldest daughter were the chief mourners.

New Zealand Herald, 8 January 1898 There is a strong feeling in Helensville that Mrs Barker, widow of the fireman John Barker, who met his death through the derailing of the through train from Kaukapakapa on Monday last, should take some action for the recovery of compensation, several of the residents of the district having expressed themselves as prepared to raise the funds necessary to the adoption of such a course. The case of the widow is certainly a very sad one, and, even should it be decided not to take action as suggested, is certainly deserving of the earnest consideration of the Government

Auckland Star, 15 January 1898 The Hon. A. J. Cadman, Minister for Railways, arrived yesterday from the Bay of Islands, On Monday Mr Cadman goes to Helensville to visit the scene of the recent accident on the railway. While at Helensville Mr Cadman proposes visiting the widow of the fireman, John Barker.

Auckland Star, 20 January 1898 CONTINUATION OF EVIDENCE
... The jury empanelled to inquire into the cause of the death of John Barker, the victim of the recent accident on the Kaipara railway line, sat until 8.35 o'clock at the Terminus Hotel, Helensville, last evening, before arriving at a decision. In addition to the evidence published in our last issue the following witnesses were examined ... (more at link)

New Zealand Herald, 17 September 1898 BARKER - On September 11, at Taupiri, Waikato, wife of the late John Barker, late of Helensville, of a son

New Zealand Herald, 4 October 1898 The trustees, Messrs T. Manning, D. Stewart, and A. Becroft, appointed to deal with the funds collected in aid of Mrs Barker, widow of the late John Barker, fireman in the employ of the Auckland Railway Department, who met his death some months since through the derailing of a train at Kaukapakapa, have handed over the moneys collected to the Public Trustee. The amount realised by public subscription was 189 3s, which, with accrued interest, come to 191 6s 5d, from which the sum of 44, advanced by the trustees to the widow to tide herself and family over the dearly difficulties, has to be deducted, leaving a balance at the present time of 147 6s 5d. In addition to this, the widow receives a grant of 500 from the Government, which, with her appointment to the position of postmistress at Taupiri, should prove sufficient to place herself and family beyond want, until such time as the children, yet young, are able to come to their widowed mother's assistance (total equivalent today of $130,300)


JOHN BARKER died 3 January 1898 aged 38
- he is buried Block 1 Row B24 Plot 7 Seq 1 at Helensville Cemetery
EMILY ANN Barker died 24 April 1918 aged 57
- she is buried Nonconformist Division C Row 5, Plot 32 at Waikumete

PHOTO
HEADSTONE of Emily Ann Barker
Waikumete Cemetery
from the site Gravestone Photographic Resource


3 comment(s), latest 1 year, 5 months ago

*MARY JANE LOVELL + Frank LAWTON

see the 'other' Mary Jane Lovell (1848-1914)

MARY JANE LOVELL (1853-1932)
was born in NSW (possibly Glebe), a daughter of Charles LOVELL & Margaret CROTHERS. Her father Charles Lovell (1804-1870) was originally from Bristol. He was convicted at Jamaica Court Martial for the term of his life. He was 1 of the 240 convicts transported on the 'Portsea' 24 July 1838 into NSW. Her mother Margaret (1843-) was born in Ireland and arrived in Australia on the 'Thetis' in 1850
MARY married FRANK LAWTON (1837-1905) in Hokitika 8 Aug 1874
- Frank was born Rochester, Monroe County, New York
- He was a Master Mariner/Sea Captain

MARY & FRANK had 16 known children:
... 1 ...
1875 - 1953 ROSE Lawton

Rose married Edward NICHOLAS (1873-1959) in Wellington 26 June 1897
the known children of ROSE & EDWARD (possibly more):
1.a 1898 - 1899 INEZ Nicholas
Inez died aged 14 months

1.b 1900 - 1995 VIOLET MARY OLIVE Nicholas
Violet married Colin CAMERON in 1921

1.c 1901 - LORRAINE VICTORIA Nicholas
Lorraine married William Henry 'Harry' HAYTER (1899-1948) in 1923
- son of George Albert HAYTER & Georgina 'Nellie' MILLS of Onehunga, Auckland

1.d 1903 - 1977 ZILLAH ROSE Nicholas
Zillah married Murdoch Hector McKAY (1897-) in 1925
- son of James Donald & Isabella McKAY

1.e 1905 - 1977 HAROLD ROY Nicholas
nothing known

1.f 1906 - 1980 STANLEY Nicholas
nothing known

1.g 1909 - 1995 ALVINA BERNICE MAY Nicholas
Alvina married Andrew William HODGE (1904-1983) in 1926
- son of Roderick McGregor HODGE & Annie Eliza RODDA

1.h 1913 - PHYLLIS RONA Nicholas
Phyllis married Hughie Joyce HODGE (1907-1971) in 1931
- son of Roderick McGregor HODGE & Annie Eliza RODDA
* ROSE NICHOLAS died in 1953 aged 78


... 2 ...
1876 - 1931 FRANK HADFIELD Lawton
- born in Hokitika, Frank was the Chief Mate on the steamer PROGRESS which, in 1931, was blown on to the rocks while un-maneuverable through breaking her tailshaft and losing her propeller. Her recovery was botched by the Wellington Harbour tugs. Scattered pieces of iron littered the area, most unrecognisable apart from the boiler and engine. Four crew drowned, Frank was one of them (but read Peter Sharpe's (7th) comment below). His body was washed up onto the beach at Lyall Bay and was identified by his watch. He was 53
He is buried in Karori Cemetery Wellington, Plot 121 L, Section CH ENG2
FRANK married Matilda May COLEY (1878-1962) in Foxton in 1900
- Matilda was born in Foxton, a daughter of Henry COLEY (1853-1940) from Auckland & Olive SWAFFORD (1855-1937) from Taita. Olive's brother William Edward Swafford married Jane Daysh in 1866, a daughter of John Ings Daysh & Elizabeth CLARK
the known children of FRANK & MATILDA:
2.a 1901 - 1956 CECIL WILFRED 'Ces' Lawton
Ces didn't marry. He died aged 55 & was cremated at Karori, Wellington

2.b 1903 - 1976 GWENDOLINE GLADYS 'Gwen' Lawton
Gwen married Horace William PRINCE in 1930
- a son of William Henry PRINCE (1869-1954) & Frances Amelia BUDD (1871-1948)

2.c 1905 - 1986 REGINALD DUNDAS 'Reg' Lawton
Reg married Winifred Myra 'Win' WALLS (1901-1963)
- daughter of George Leishman WALLS (1874-1938) & Annie Caroline FARLANE (1875-1949)

2.d 1907 - 1951 VIOLET OLIVE 'Vi' Lawton
Vi married Leslie Charles WHINHAM (1906-1987) in 1928
- son of William Thomas WHINHAM (1877-1951) & Rosanna Ellen DRYDEN (1882-1935)
Vi next married William Griffith David DAVIES (1903-1982) from Adelaide
Vi & William had a son:
* 1945 - David Michael Davies (read Peter Sharpe's comments below)

2.e 1914 - 1998 LEOPOLD HECTOR FRANCIS 'Leo' Lawton
(born 19 April 1914, twin)
Leo married Dorothy Evelyn FISHER (1921-2003) & had 2 children

2.f 1914 - 1980 ALEXANDER HENRY 'Lex' Lawton
(born 19 April 1914, twin)
Lex married Mary Elizabeth JONES (1915-1997) & had 2 daughters

2.g 1919 - 1984 PATRICIA EDITH 'Pat' Lawton
Pat married Herbert 'Lionel' Arthur SHARPE (1920-1978)
- they had 2 sons:
* 1943 - John Francis Sharpe
* 1958 - Peter James Sharpe (see Peter's comments below)


... 3 ...
1877 - 1915 CLAUDE HERBERT Lawton
- nothing known
CLAUDE died 3 August 1915 aged 37


... 4 ...
1879 - 1947 CHARLES THOMAS Lawton
Charles married Harriett Elizabeth SPENCER (1881-1952) in 1905
the known children of CHARLES & HARRIETT:
4.a 1908 - 1972 SYDNEY WALLACE Lawton
- nothing known
Sydney died 23 May 1972 in Wellington aged 63 & cremated Karori

4.b 1909 - 1970 CHRISTOPHER CHARLES Lawton
- nothing known
Christopher died 6 February 1970 in Wellington aged 60 & cremated Karori

CHARLES THOMAS Lawton died 25 Jan 1947 in Wellington aged 67
HARRIETT ELIZABETH Lawton died 8 July 1952 in Wellington aged 71
they were cremated at Karori


... 5 ...
1881 - 1883 VIOLET MARY Lawton
VIOLET died aged 2


... 6 ...
1882 - 1883 LILY JANE Lawton
LILY died aged 10 months


... 7 ...
1883 - 1971 ETHEL Lawton
Ethel married Ernest George FEATONBY (1881-1956) in 1905
the known children of ETHEL & ERNEST:
7.a 1905 - 1980 ERNEST OGILVIE Featonby
Ernest married Ivy EYRE (1912-1971) in 1930

7.b 1908 - 1994 PEARL ETHEL MAY Featonby
Pearl married Kenneth Gordon SCOTT in 1928

ERNEST GEORGE Featonby died 4 Jan 1956 aged 75 in Wellington
he was cremated at karori
ETHEL Featonby died aged 89


... 8 ...
1884 - 1962 MAY Lawton
May married James TANNER (1882-1964) 19 Feb 1906 in Wellington
- son of Samuel TANNER & Elizabeth TAYLOR (both from Lancashire, died Queensland)
the known children of MAY & JAMES:
8.a 1907 - HAROLD JAMES Tanner
- born in Wellington

8.b 1908 - DAISY LILLIAN MAY Tanner
- born in Wellington

8.c 1911 - CYRIL CHARLES Tanner
- born in Brisbane

8.d 1913 - 1975 GLADYS Tanner
- born in Brisbane
- married Victor NAGEL

8.e 1916 - 1993 CECIL WILLIAM Tanner
- born (& died) in Brisbane
- married Ivy Sarah KEEN 8 Aug 1936 in Cooparoo, Queensland

8.f 1918 - GEORGE SAMUEL Tanner
- born in Greenslopes, Brisbane

8.g 1922 - BERYL AUDREY Tanner
- born in Greenslpes, Brisband

8.h 1924 - SYDNEY EDWARD Tanner
- born in Greenslopes, Brisbane


... 9 ...
1886 - 1961 MAUDE ALICE Lawton
Maude married Ernest Mark MINIFIE (1884-1968) in 1905
Ernest was born in Richmond, Victoria to Henry MINIFIE & Mary Jane HILL. He was the corporation beach custodian at Lyall Bay, Wellington in 1918. Four of his brothers served at the front. One was killed
the known children of MAUDE & ERNEST:
9.a 1906 - 1961 CECIL ERNEST Minifie

MAUDE ALICE Minifie died aged 75


... 10 ...
1888 - DAISY Lawton
Daisy married Alfred Allen WILTON (1885-1963) in 1906
the known children of DAISY & ALFRED: (possibly more)
10.a 1907 - 1982 CYRIL ALFRED Wilton
Cyril married Ola Gauletta BARWICK in Sydney in 1937

10.b 1908 - 2008 CLIFFORD HENRY Wilton
Clifford married Jean GANDY (1911-2006) in 1929
- daughter of Kenneth Scott GANDY & Ethel Harriett STUART

10.c 1910 - 1910 LESLIE OLIVER Wilton
Leslie died aged 27 days

ALFRED divorced DAISY for desertion in Wellington in Feb 1929
- Daisy next married William Steven OWEN in 1929
- Alfred next married Myra FIELDING in 1930


... 11 ...
1889 - 1889 MARGARET Lawton
Margaret Lawton died aged 2 months


... 12 ...
1890 - 1891 EVA FLORENCE Lawton
EVA Lawton died aged 6 months


... 13 ...
1892 - 1957 WILLIAM HENRY Lawton
William first married Alice Zeliah NEWLAND (1892-1964) in 1911
- Alice was a daughter of Edmund NEWLAND & Minnie Ellen/Elizabeth WELLS
William next married Ruth Elizabeth BENNETT (1898-?) in 1916
- Ruth was a daughter of William John BENNETT & Agnes SHELLAM

WILLIAM HENRY Lawton died aged 65


... 14 ...
1893 - 1941 CECIL JOHN Lawton
Cecil married Lillian Ethel Daisy NOOT in 1919
- daughter of William Charles NOOT & Ellen HUNTER of Wellington

CECIL JOHN Lawton died 3 June 1941 in Wellington aged 47
he was cremated at Karori


... 15 ...
1895 - 1895 RUBY Lawton
RUBY Lawton died 28 Jan 1895 aged 3 weeks
she is buried Plot 46 D, PUBLIC Section at Karori


... 16 ...
1897 - 1912 ROY Lawton
ROY died aged 14

FRANK LAWTON died 23 Aug 1906 in Wellington aged 69
Evening Post, 23 August 1906 LAWTON - On the 23rd August, at his residence, No. 10 Buckle-street, Captain Frank lawton, dearly beloved husband of Mary Jane Lawton, in his 70th year. Gone to rest. No flowers, by request.
MARY JANE LAWTON died 16 June 1932 in Wellington aged 79
Evening Post, 17 June 1932 LAWTON - On 16th June, 1932, at the Wellington Hospital, Mary Jane Lawton, relict of the late Captain Frank Lawton and dearly beloved mother of mr Charles Lawton, 6 Glenmore street; Mr William Lawton, Nelson; Mr Cecil Lawton, 71 Tirangi road, Rongotai; Mrs E. Nicholas. Coriglen; Mrs M. Minifie, Coriglen; Mrs G. Featony, Melrose; Mrs J. Tanner, Brisbane; and Mrs W. S. Owen, Sydney; in her 80th year. At Rest.
- they are buried PLOT 58L, SECTION PUBLIC2 at Karori Wellington

14 comment(s), latest 2 months ago

*NEW ZEALAND Virtual CEMETERIES

the following list of New Zealand cemeteries on Find A Grave has now been changed to include INDIVIDUAL LINKS

Each cemetery has been given an individual link to enable you to more easily find your ancestors/family members and leave them flowers & messages or upload a photo etc

You may also wish to add your own ancestors to the cemeteries already created


N O T E S
* Now includes moving footage (from YouTube) on the Funeral Procession (in canoes up the Waikato River) of the Maori Queen, Dame Te Atairangikaahu, ONZ, DBE, OStJ (23 July 193115 August 2006) - see TAUPIRI Urupa below

* URUPA is a Maori Cemetery usually situated on a Marae

* If you are unable to find a cemetery in a District, (eg Wellington), look also under the names of the cemetery, eg Bolton St, Karori, Pauahatanui etc


ADDINGTON cemetery CHRISTCHURCH

ADDISON'S FLAT West Coast

AHI PANE PANE Urupa MASTERTON

AKAROA cemetery CHRISTCHURCH

AKATARAWA cemetery UPPER HUTT

AKURA Urupa, Masterton

ALBANY VILLAGE Auckland

ALEXANDRA cemetery OTAGO

ALEXANDRIA REDOUBT cemetery WAIKATO
- (about Alexandria Redoubt 1863 built during the NZ wars)

ALFORD FOREST cemetery CANTERBURY

ALFREDTON Road cemetery EKETAHUNA (not the memorial)

ALFREDTON Road Memorial EKETAHUNA

ALLANTON cemetery OTAGO

ALL SAINTS BURWOOD cemetery, CHRISTCHURCH

AMAHUA Urupa, Gladstone

ANDERSON'S BAY cemetery DUNEDIN

ANGLICAN cemetery LEVIN

APITI, Pohangina

ARAMOHO cemetery WANGANUI

ARARIMU, cemetery Auckland

ARCHER Street cemetery MASTERTON

ARIA cemetery KING COUNTRY

ARROWTOWN cemetery OTAGO

ARTHUR STREET Dunedin (aka York Place & Rattray St cemetery)

ARUNDEL cemetery CANTERBURY

ASHBURTON emetery CANTERBURY

ASHHURST cemetery MANAWATU

ASHLEY CLINTON, cemetery Hawkes Bay

ATHOL CEMETERY Auckland

ATHOL CEMETERY Southland

Auckland WAIKUMETE Crematorium AUCKLAND

AWANUI cemetery, NEW PLYMOUTH

AWHITU cemetery AUCKLAND

AVENUE cemetery LEVIN

AVONHEAD PARK cemetery CHRISTCHURCH

AVONSIDE Anglican cemetery CHRISTCHURCH

AWA TAPU cemetery PARAPARAUMU, WELLINGTON

AWARU MAORI cemetery AUCKLAND

AWHITU CENTRAL cemetery AUCKLAND

BAINHAM cemetery GOLDEN BAY

BALCAIRN PBLIC cemetery RANGIORA

BALFOUR cemetery GORE

BARBADOES Street cemetery CHRISTCHURCH

BARRHILL cemetery CANTERBURY

BATTLE HILL Burial Ground PAEKAKARIKI HILL, WELLINGTON

BELFAST cemetery CHRISTCHURCH

BIRKENHEAD Lawn Cemetery AUCKLAND

BLESSED SACRAMENT Cathedral CHRISTCHURCH

BLUFF INVERCARGILL

BOATMANS cemetery GREYMOUTH

BOLTON Street cemetery WELLINGTON

BOMBAY Presbyterian Church AUCKLAND

BOULTON STREET Memorial Park CHRISTCHURCH

BOURKES CREEK cemetery REEFTON

BRIDGE Street cemetery LOWER HUTT

BROAD BAY DUNEDIN

BROADWOOD KAITAIA

BROMLEY cemetery CHRISTCHURCH

BROOKSIDE CANTERBURY

BUFFALO cemetery COROMANDEL

BUNNYTHORPE cemetery MANAWATU

BURKES PASS cemetery SOUTH CANTEBURY

CALCIUM cemetery SOUTHLAND

CALLESON FAMILY cemetery PALMERSTON NORTH

CAMERONS cemetery GREYMOUTH

CANTERBURY PROVINCIAL MEMORIAL CHRISTCHURCH

CASTLEPOINT cemetery MASTERTON

CHARLESTON CATHOLIC cemetery WEST COAST

CHERTSEY ASHBURTON

CHRIST CHURCH TAITA cemetery LOWER HUTT

CHRIST CHURCH Anglican Cemetery COROMANDEL

CHRIST CHURCH RUSSELL Kororareka KAWAKAWA

CHURCH of the HOLY INNOCENTS Mt Peel Station GERALDINE

CHURCH of the HOLY INNOCENTS GERALDINE

CLAREVILLE cemetery CARTERTON, WAIRARAPA

CLEVEDON Manaukau AUCKLAND

CLIFTON cemetery BULLS

CLIFTON PUBLIC Takaka NELSON

CLINTON BULLS

COLAC BAY cemetery SOUTHLAND

COLLINGWOOD MOTUEKA

COLVILLE cemetery COROMANDEL

CROMWELL cemetery QUEENSTOWN

CROOKSTON cemetery ROXBURGH

CUST Presbyterian CANTERBURY

DANNEVIRKE cemetery MANGATERA

DANNEVIRKE Old Cemetery, aka SETTLERS MANAWATU

DANNEVIRKE cemetery MATAMAU

DARGAVILLE Mt Wesley cemetery DARGAVILLE

DIPTON SOUTHLAND

DOVEDALE cemetery NELSON

DRURY presbyterian Cemetery AUCKLAND

DUDLEY cemetery TE PUKE

DUNEDIN Andersons Bay cemetery OTAGO

DUNEDIN Northern cemetery OTAGO

DUNEDIN Southern cemetery OTAGO

DUNTROON cemetery OTAGO

DUVAUCHELLE cemetery CHRISTCHURCH

EAST COAST Urupa GISBORNE

EAST EYRETON WELLINGTON

EAST TAIERI cemetery DUNEDIN

EAST TAKAKA cemetery TASMAN

EAST WINTON SOUTHLAND

EASTERN CEMETERY INVERCARGIL

EDENDALE cemetery SOUTHLAND

EKETAHUNA cemetery MANGAORANGA

EKETAHUNA Alfredton Rd NOT the Memorial

EKETAHUNA Alfredton Rd MEMORIAL

ELLESMERE Public Cemetery LEESTON, CHRISTCHURCH

ELTHAM OLD cemetery TARANAKI
- Anderson/Rawhitiroa roads

ESKDALE cemetery NAPIER

FAIRBURN KAITAIA

FAIRFAX cemetery MILTON, Otago

FAIRFIELD cemetery NELSON

FAIRHALL cemetery BLENHEIM

FEATHERSTON cemetery WAIRARAPA

FEATHERSTON SOLDIERS cemetery FEATHERSTON

FEILDING cemetery MANAWATU

FOREST GATE Onga Onga, Hawkes Bay

FOXHILL NELSON

FOXTON cemetery HOROWHENUA

FRANKTON cemetery QUEENSTOWN

FRASERTOWN cemetery AUCKLAND

GARSTON SOUTHLAND

GERALDINE cemetery CANTERBURY

GEORGETOWN OAMARU

GISBORNE GISBORNE

GLENFIELD cemetery AUCKLAND

GLENORCHY QUEENSTOWN

GLENORE/WOOLSHED MILTON (now on private land)

GOLDERS cemetery AUCKLAND

GORDONTON HAMILTON

GORE cemetery INVERCARGILL

GREATFORD MARTON, Manawatu

GREEN ISLAND cemetery DUNEDIN

GREEN PARK cemetery DUNEDIN

GREYMOUTH cemetery WEST COAST

GREYTOWN cemetery WAIRARAPA

HAKATARAMEA cemetery CANTERBURY

HALCOMBE cemetery MANAWATU

HALLOWELL cemetery NELSON

HALFMOON BAY OBAN, Invercargill

HAMAMA cemetery WEST TAKAKA Nelson

HAMILTON East cemetery WAIKATO

HAMILTON Lawn cemetery WAIKATO

HAMILTON Park cemetery WAIKATO

HAMILTON West cemetery WAIKATO

HAMUERA Urupa Te Whiti, MASTERTON

HAPUKU MAORI BLENHEIM

HAREWOOD Memorial gardens CHRISTCHURCH

HAUTAPU cemetery CAMBRIDGE

HAREWOOD MEMORIAL Gardens & Crematorium CANTERBURY

HASTINGS cemetery HAWKES BAY

HASTWELL cemetery MANAWATU

HAUTAPU cemetery CAMBRIDGE

HAVELOCK NORTH cemetery HAWKES BAY

HAWERA general cemetery SOUTH TARANAKI

HAWERA Memorial RSA

HAWKESBURY cemetery WAIKOUAITI, Dunedin

HEADS ROAD cemetery WANGANUI

HEIGHTS PARK cemetery PAERATA Auckland

HELENSVILLE cemetery AUCKLAND

HERBERTVILLE cemetery TARARUA

HILLREST cemetery WHAKATANE

HILLSBOROUGH cemetery AUCKLAND

HINDS cemetery CANTERBURY

HIRA (St Johns) NELSON

HOBSONVILLE CHURCH cemetery AUCKLAND

HOKITIKA Municipal cemetery WEST COAST

HOLY TRINITY cemetery SILVERDALE, Auckland

HOMEDALE Methodist Cemetery WAINUIOMATA

HOMEWOOD Maori cemetery MASTERTON

HOUHORA cemetery NORTHLAND

HORORATA CHRISTCHURCH

HOWICK cemetery AUCKLAND

HUIRANGI TARANAKI

HUKERENUI cemetery WHANGAREI

HUNTLY cemetery WAIKATO

HURDON NEW PLYMOUTH

HYDE cemetery OTAGO

INANGAHUA cemetery WELLINGTON

INAGANHUA JUNCTION cemetery WEST COAST

INGLEWOOD cemetery TARANAKI

INVERCARGILL Eastern Cemetery SOUTHLAND

KAEO cemetery NORTHLAND

KAITAIA cemetery NORTHLAND

KAIAPO cemetery CANTERBURY

KAIKOHE PUBLIC cemetery NORTHLAND

KAITANGATA ARROWTOWN

KAITAWA cemetery PAHIATUA

KAITUNA cemetery MARLBOROUGH

KAMO public cemetery WHANGAREI

KAPONGA general cemetery TARANAKI

KARAMEA GREYMOUTH

KARORI cemetery WELLINGTON

KARORO cemetery GREYMOUTH

KATIKATI cemetery BAY OF PLENTY

KAUAE cemetery NGONGOTAHA, Rotorua

KAUKAPAKAPA Kaipara Flats

KAURIHOHORE cemetery WHANGAREI

KAWAKAWA cemetery NORTHLAND

KAWERAU cemetery BAY OF PLENTY

KELVIN GROVE cemetery PALMERSTON NORTH

KERIKERI cemetery NORTHLAND

KIHIKIHI cemetery WAIKATO

KILLINCHY cemetery CANTERBURY

KIMBERLEY cemetery SELWYN Ditrict, CANTERBURY

KIMBOLTON cemetery MANAWATU

KIMIHIA cemetery WAIKATO

KIOREROA cemetery WHANGAREI

KOHUNUI Urupa FEATHERSTON

KOPUATAMA cemetery STRATFORD, Taranaki

KOROKORO Catholic cemetery PETONE

KORU MONASTRY cemetery TARANAKI

KOTINGA cemetery Takaka, GOLDEN BAY

KUMARA cemetery GREYMOUTH, WEST COAST

KUMEROA cemetery WOODVILLE

KUMEU ANGLICAN cemetery AUCKLAND

LAWN EKETAHUNA Marchant St EKETAHUNA

LAVERICKS BAY CHRISTCHURCH

LAWRENCE OTAGO

LEAMINGTON cemetery CAMBRIDGE

LEESTON Bishops Corner Cemetery CANTERBURY PLAINS

LEPPERTON TARANAKI

LEVIN RSA cemetery OTAGO

LEVIN The Old Cemetery HOROWHENUA

LEVIN The Avenue Cemetery HOROWHENUA

LINWOOD cemetery CHRISTCHURCH

LUMSDEN cemetery INVERCARGILL

LYTTELTON ANGLICAN cemetery CHRISTCHURCH

MacANDREW BAY cemetery OTAGO

MACRAES FLAT new cemetery OTAGO

MAHAKIPAWA Havelock MARLBOROUGH

MAKARA cemetery WELLINGTON

MAKARAKA cemetery GISBORNE

MAKARETU HAWKES BAY

MAKOMAKO Urupa WAITAKARURU on FIRTH of THAMES

MANAIA cemetery SOUTH TARANAKI

MANAKAU cemetery HOROWHENUA

MANGAHAO-BALLANCE cemetery PAHIATUA, MANAWATU

MANGAKINO PUBLIC cemetery WAIKATO

MANGAMINGI Urupa RAETIHI near Ohakune

MANGAORANGA cemetery EKETAHUNA

MANGAROA cemetery HASTINGS

MANGATAINOKA cemetery PAHIATUA, MANAWATU

MANGATERA cemetery DANNEVIRKE

MANGATU cemetery GISBORNE

MANGAWEKA cemetery MARTON

MANGERE Lawn Cemetery AUCKLAND

MANUKAU Memorial Gardens AUCKLAND

MANUNUI cemetery TAUMARUNUI

MANUTAHI Cemetery TARANAKI

MARAMARUA WAIKATO

MARAREWA cemetery NELSON

MARSDEN VALLEY cemetery NELSON

MARTINBOROUGH Dublin St cemetery SOUTH WAIRARAPA

MARUA cemetery WHANGAREI

MASTERTON Lawn cemetery WAIRARAPA

MASTERTON WAR MEMORIAL - MASTERTON

MATAHIWI Urupa HAWKES BAY

MATAMATA cemetery WAIKATO

MATAMAU cemetery DANNEVIRKE

MATAHIWI Urupa HASTINGS

MATAMATA cemetery WAIKATO

MATAURU SOUTHLAND

MAUKU cemetery AUCKLAND

MAUNU PARK cemetery WHANGAREI

MAURICEVILLE WEST cemetery WAIRARAPA

MEMORIAL PARK cemetery CHRISTCHURCH

MERCER cemetery WAIKATO

MERCURY BAY cemetery THAMES

METHVEN cemetery CANTERBURY

MISSION GROUND cemetery WHANGAREI

MOHAKA MAORI GISBORNE

MORRINSVILLE old cemetery WAIKATO

MOTUEKA cemetery TASMAN region

MOTUPIKO, St George cemetery NELSON

MOUNT CAMEL cemetery NORTHLAND

MOUNT EDEN STOCKADE cemetery AUCKLAND
- (interesting story of the sole 'resident')

MOUNT SOMERS cemetery CANTERBURY
- (Mt Somers at the foothills of the Southern Alps)

MOUNT STREET cemetery WELLINGTON (heritage site)

MOUNT VICTORIA cemetery AUCKLAND

MOUNT VIEW cemetery MANAWATU

MOUNT WESLEY cemetery TOKATOKA

MOUTERE HILLS cemetery MOTUEKA

MOUNT VIEW cemetery MARTON

MOUNT WESLEY cemetery DARGAVILLE

NAPIER Old Cemetery HAWKES BAY

NZ NAVAL Memorial DEVONPORT, Auckland

NEWMAN cemetery EKETAHUNA

NEWSTEAD cemetery HAMILTON

NGAI TANEROA Urupa CARTERTON

NGARUAWAHIA cemetery WAIKATO

NGATEA cemetery WAIKATO

NGATOKOWARU MARAE HOKIO, Levin
- (Ngatokowaru Marae)

NGONGOTAHA ROTORUA

NORSEWOOD cemetery TARARUA

NORTH SHORE Memorial Park AUCKLAND

NORTHERN cemetery DUNEDIN

O'NEILL'S POINT cemetery AUCKLAND

OAKURA cemetery TARANAKI

OAMARU cemetery OTAGO

OATES FAMILY CARTERTON

OHAKUNE Lake View Cemetery RUAPEHU

OHARIU Holy Trinity Cemetery HUTT VALLEY

OHAUPO cemetery WAIKATO

OHINGAITI MANAWATU

OKAIAWA cemetery SOUTH TARANAKI

OKATO cemetery TARANAKI

OLD GORGE cemetery WOODVILLE

OLD LEVIN cemetery HOROWHENUA

OLD MARTINBOROUGH cemetery WAIRARAPA

OLD MILITARY & Early Settlers TAUPO

OLD Mt WESLEY cemetery NORTHLAND

OLD NAPIER HILL cemetery NAPIER

OLD OROWAITI

OLD PAPAKURA cemetery AUCKLAND

OLD STAFFORD cemetery HOKITIKA[/URL]

OLD TAUMARUNUI cemetery TAUMARUNUI

OLD WINTON SOUTHLAND

OMAHU cemetery THAMES

OMAKA cemetery BLENHEIM, MARLBOROUGH

ONERAHI cemetery WHANGAREI

OPOTIKI public cemetery GISBORNE

OPUNAKE cemetery SOUTH TARANAKI

ORAEROA Urupa PORT WAIKATO

OREPUKI cemetery SOUTHLAND

ORMONDVILLE cemetery MANAWATU

OROPI cemetery TAURANGA

OROWAITI MIDDLE cemetery WESTPORT

OTAHUHU Public Cemetery AUCKLAND

OTAKEHO cemetery SOUTH TARANAKI

OTAKI cemetery OTAKI

OTANE cemetery HASTINGS

OTOKIA cemetery DUNEDIN

OTONGA cemetery WHANGAREI

OTOROHANGA cemetery WAIKATO

OWHANGO cemetery TAUMARUNUI

OXFORD cemetery CHRISTCHURCH

PACIFIC ISLAND CHURCH MANAKAU, Auckland

PAEROA cemetery WAIKATO

PAHIATUA cemetery MANGATAINOKA

PAPAKURA cemetery AUCKLAND

PAPAKURA SOUTH cemetery AUCKLAND

PAPATOETOE RSA cemetery AUCKLAND

PAPAWAI Urupa GREYTOWN, Wairarapa
- Papawai is 3km east of Greytown
- The name of the Urupa is Rangiurunga (see comments)

PARAPARAUMU cemetery KAPITI COAST

PARK ISLAND cemetery NAPIER

PARUA BAY cemetery WHANGAREI

PATEA General Anglican cemetery PATEA

PATEA Urupa PATEA

PATERANGI cemetery TE WAWMUTU

PATUTAHI cemetery GISBORNE

PAUATAHANUI Public Burial Ground PORIRUA, Wellington

PAWARENGA church NORTHLAND

PICTON cemetery MARLBOROUGH

PIGEON BAY cemetery CANTERBURY
- (first burial 1871)

PIOPIO cemetery KING COUNTRY

PIPIWAI cemetery WANGANUI

PIRONGIA cemetery WAIKATO

PITT ISLAND cemetery CHATHAM ISLANDS

POHANGINA cemetery MANAWATU

POKENO cemetery SOUTH AUCKLAND

POKENO OLD SOLDIERS historic cemetery AUCKLAND

POKENO Old Soldiers Cemetery SOUTH AUCKLAND

PONGAROA cemetery TARARUA

PORIRUA Kenepuru Drive cemetery WELLINGTON

PORT CHALMERS cemetery DUNEDIN

PRATT's Rd Catholic cemetery RAMARAMA, South Auckland

PRESBYTERIAN cemetery HOBSONVILLE, Auckland

PUKEKOHE cemetery AUCKLAND

PUKERIMU cemetery CAMBRIDGE

PUREWA cemetery AUCKLAND

PURUA cemetery WHANGAREI

PUTARURU Dominion Road cemetery WAIKATO

PUTARURU Tirau Street cemetery WAIKATO

PYES PA Memoria Park cemetery TAURANGA

QUAKER's ACRE cemetery NELSON

QUEENSTOWN cemetery QUEENSTOWN

RAETIHI cemetery OHAKUNE

RAGLAN LAWN cemetery WAIKATO

RAI VALLEY cemetery MARLBOROUGH

RAKAIA cemetery CANTERBURY PLAINS

RAMARAMA cemetery SOUTH AUCKAND

RANGATAUA cemetery TONGARIRO

RANGIATEA Churchyard OTAKI

RANGIORA East Belt Cemetery CANTERBURY

RANGIORA Anglican Cemetery CANTERBURY

RANGIRIRI Cemetery WAIKATO

RANGIURUNGA cemetery GREYTOWN

RANGIWAHIA cemetery MANAWATU

RATANA cemetery WANGANUI

RAURIMU cemetery OHAKUNE

RAWENE cemetery NORTHLAND

REEFTON cemetery WEST COAST

RENWICKTOWN cmetery MARLBOROUGH

RICHMOND cemetery NELSON

RINGARINGA Burial Ground STEWART ISLAND

RIVERSIDE cemetery MASTRETON

RIVERTON cemetery SOUTHLAND

RIWAKA cemetery TASMAN

RONGOTEA cemetery MANAWATU

ROSS cemetery WEST COAST

ROTOKAKAHI Pawarenga NORTHLAND

ROTORUA Sala St cemetery ROTORUA

ROTOTAI cemetery TAKAKA

ROXBOURGH cemetery OTAGO

RSA GROUND cemetery LYTTELTON

RUAPUNA cemetery ASHBURTON

RURU St Lawn Cemetery CHRISTCHURCH

RUSSELL cemetery NORTHLAND
- (was Kororareka)

Saint ANDREWS Churchyard CANTERBURY

Saint BARNABAS Anglican Cemetery CANTERBURY

Saint BRIDES C of E cemetery AUCKLAND

Saint JOSEPH's Churchyard UPPER HUTT

Saintt JAMES Churchyard LOWER HUTT

Saint JOHNS Anglican cemetery DRURY, Auckland

Saint JOHNS Churchyard WAKEFIELD, Nelson

Saint JOHNS Anglican cemetery WAIKIWI Southland

Saint MARKS cemetery REMUERA, Auckland

Saint PATRICKS Catholic Church PANMURE, Auckland

Saint PAULS Churchyard PAPANUI, Canterbury

Saint PETERS Anglican Churchyard CHRISTCHURCH

Saint PETERS in the Forest Churchyard BOMBAY Auckland

Saint SAVIOUS cemetery AUCKLAND

Saint STEPHENS Churchyard AUCKLAND

SANDON cemetery, MANAWATU

SCHNAPPER ROCK cemetery AUCKLAND

SEAVIEW Road cemetery NELSON

SEDGEMERE cemetery SELWYN, Canterbury

SHANNON cemetery HOROWHENUA

SHORTLAND cemetery THAMES

SKIPPERS cemetery QUEENSTOWN

SOMES ISLAND cemetery WELLINGTON

SOUTHERN cemetery DUNEDIN

SPRING GROVE cemetery NELSON

SPRINGSTON cemetery CANTERBURY

STRATFORD cemetery TARANAKI

SWANSON cemetery AUCKLAND

SYDENHAM cemetery CHRISTCHURCH

SYMONDS Street Anglican cemetery AUCKLAND

SYMONDS Street Jewish cemetery AUCKLAND

SYMONDS Street Presbyterian Cemetery

SYMONDS Street Catholic cemetery AUCKLAND

SYMONDS Street Wesleyan & General cemetery AUCKLAND

TAIERI BEACH cemetery DUNEDIN

TAIHAPE cemetery RANGITIKEI

TAITA CHRIST CHURCH cemetery LOWER HUTT

TAITA Lawn Cemetery LOWER HUTT

TAITA Servicemens cemetery LOEWR HUTT

TARADALE cemetery HAWKES BAY

TARARU cemetery THAMES

TARATA cemetery TARANAKI

TARUHERU Lawn Cemetery GISBORNE

TATARAIMAKA cemetery TARANAKI

TAUMARUNUI cemetery TAUMARUNUI

TAUPIRI Urupa TAUPIRI, WAIKATO
- (unfortunately the Maori queen, Dame Te Atairangikaahu, has been 'interred' at Find A Grave on her own in a seperate 'cemetery' instead of, as she is in reality, with her people at the above Urupa. She is buried in an unmarked grave, as are her ancestors, as a sign of equality with their people)
- watch the Maori Queen's Funeral Procession up the Waikato River to Taupiri

TAUPO cemetery TAUPO

TAURANGA Anglican Cemetery TAURANGA

Te AROHA cemetery Te AROHA

Te AWAMUTU cemetery WAIKATO

Te HENUI cemetery NEW PLYMOUTH

Te KUITI cemetery SOUTH WAIKATO

Te MAKETU cemetery TE PUKE

Te PUKE cemetery BAY OF PLENTY

TEMUKA cemetery CANTERBURY

Te URU o TANE urupa GREYTOWN

TERRACE END cemetery PALMERSTON NORTH

TIMARU cemetery CANTERBURY

TINUI cemetery WAIRARAPA

TIRAU cemetery SOUTH WAIKATO

TOKOMARU BAY Urupa EAST COAST

TOKOROA cemetery SOUTH WAIKATO

TOLAGA BAY cemetery GISBORNE

TOTARA Memorial Park THAMES
- (was Grahamstown)

TUAKAU cemetery AUCKLAND

TUAMARINA cemetery MARLBOROUGH
- (Marlborough's most historic cemetery)

TUAPEKA MOUTH cemetery OTAGO

TUATAPERE cemetery SOUTHLAND

TURAKINA CATHOLIC cemetery WANGANUI

TWIZEL cemetery CANTERBURY

ULVA ISLAND burial ground STEWART ISLAND

URENUI cemetery TARANAKI

WADDINGTON cemetery CANTERBURY

WAERENGA cemetery WAIKATO

WAHAROA cemetery WAIKATO

WAIHEKE ISLAND cemetery AUCKLAND

WAIHEMO cemetery OAMARU
- (a list of the people who died in the 1942 fire at Seacliff Psychiatric Hospital)

WAIHI cemetery COROMANDEL

WAIHI Redoubt Cemetery SOUTH TARANAKI

WAIKAIA cemetery SOUTHLAND

WAIKANAE cemetery WELLINGTON

WAIKARAKA cemetery AUCKLAND

WAIKUMETE cemetery GLEN EDEN, AUCKLAND

WAIMAIRI cemetery CANTERBURY

WAIMAMAKU cemetery NORTHLAND

WAIMANGAROA cemetery WEST COAST

WAIMATE Lawn Cemetery CANTERBURY
- (across the road from Waimate Old Cemetery)

WAIPAPAKAURI cemetery NORTHLAND

WAIPAWA cemetery HAWKES BAY

WAIPU cemetery WHANGAREI

WAIPUKURAU cemetery CENTRAL HAWKES BAY

WAIROA cemetery HAWKES BAY

WAITAKERE cemetery AUCKLAND

WAITARA cemetery NEW PLYMOUTH

WAITOTARA cemetery TARANAKI

WAITUNA WEST cemetery MANAWATU

WAIUKU cemetery AUCKLAND

WAKAPATU cemetery RIVERTON, Southland

WAKAPUAKA cemetery NELSON

WANGANUI cemetery WANGANUI

WARKWORTH ANGLICAN church cemetery AUCKLAND

WAVERLEY cemetery WNGANUI

WEBER cemetery TARARUA
- (all the 51 burials)

WELLSFORD cemetery NORTHLAND

WESTERN HILLS cemetery NAPIER

WHAKATANE Hillcrest Cemetery KAWERAU

WHANANAKI cemetery WHANGAREI

WHANGAREI HEADS Pioneer Cemetery WHANGAREI

WHAREORA cemetery WHANGAREI

WHAREPAEPAE Urupa NORTHLAND
- (has the Maori Poet Hone Tuwhare 1922-2008)

WHARERANGI Cemetery NAPIER

WHENUA TAPU cemetery PORIRUA, Wellington
- (home page for Whenua Tapu Cemetery)

WHITIANGA PUBLIC cemetery COROMANDEL

WOODLANDS cemetery SOUTHLAND

WOODVILLE Old Gorge Cemetery MANAWATU

WOODVILLE RSA cemetery MANAWATU

WOODVILLE LAWN Pinfold Rd WOODVILLE

WOOLSTON cemetery CHRISTCHURCH

WREYS BUSH cemetery SOUTHLAND


updated 27 February 2014, 779 cemeteries
updated 30 November 2011, 438 cemeteries


PHOTO
Christ Church Taita Cemetery


7 comment(s), latest 8 months ago

*some WANGANUI HOTELS & their landlords

WANGANUI HOTELS from 1850s
* written for Laraine
* links usually show photographs of the hotel
* if 2 or more hotels are listed with the same name it is because I found with different address but the landlords may have been in one or the other

ALBION HOTEL, Ridgway Street - established 1865
* Charles THOMAS (late of the 'Rutland') was there in 1867
* In June 1876 George PEARCE renewed his license. Still there in 1878
* In 1889 Frederick John TASKER applied for a 'new license'. (Prior to this he had the Victoria Roller Skating Rink at the Drill Hall). He renewed the license in 1891. Still there in 1894 when he applied for an extension of hours to 11pm. In 1897 He sold the hotel to Mrs WHELAN and became unlicensed. He agreed to buy Mrs STOTT'S interest in the Rutland Hotel but the Certificate was refused
an 1898 Inspector's report (proprietor in brackets): (Whelan) - Middling; in fair order, rairly furnished, fire escape, stairs and ropes provided
* In June 1903 Arthur R. MALTBY renewed the license
* In June 1911 the transfer of the license from J. BINES to F. C. FABER was granted, the license being granted on condition that certain repairs to the building were carried out before the next meeting of the Committee

ALBION HOTEL, corner Market Place & Campbell Place
* A. H. ROGERS in 1907
* In June 1912 the lease was sold to John ROBINSON formerly of the Phoenix Hotel in Palmerston North
* In Feb 1913 Mr J. GRANVILLE's interest in the hotel went to E. J. IBLE*
* In June 1913 the lease, furniture and goodwill was sold to Alfred BISHOP formerly of the Pahautanui Hotel. In 1914 Alfred sold his interest in the hotel to H. E. SOMMERVILLE from Wellington
* In 1916 H. D. McIVER renewed his license. He was still there in 1918
NOTES about Edward James IBLE (1871-1939)

ANCHOR HOTEL
* In 1888 John McLAREN renewed his license. Still there in 1891
* was previously the Hibernian Hotel, later changed to the Commercial Hotel

ARAMOHO HOTEL
* John WALKER had it in 1867
* In 1876 Harrison GIBSON renewed his License
* M. A. RICHARDSON was there in 1878
* In May 1886 at half past 2 on a Saturday morning the Aramoho Hotel, owned by G. W. FIRMAN was burned to the ground leaving only the chimneys standing. Mr Firman was away up river on a shooting expedition. The only people in the hotel at the time was the housekeeper, a servant and a child. They jumped out a window, first throwing the cash-box out before them. No one was hurt. The cashbox split open and the money was scattered, only a few silver coins were later found
* In 1887 Mr William TUTTY was granted the license
* In 1893 Thomas COADY took over from Mrs Fanny TUTTY
an 1898 Inspector's report (proprietor in brackets): (Coady) - Middling; small rooms, in fair repair, poorly furnished, fire escape ropes in bedrooms
NOTE William Tutty (1845-1893) & Frances 'Fanny' Colebrook (1859-1922) married in Waitara 21 March 1877 & had 3 children. William died in Wanganui 3 Jan 1893 aged 47. Fanny remarried to Frederick Walter Merson. She died in Wellington 2 Feb 1922 aged 63 and buried Plot 25 G, CH ENG2 at Karori
* Thomas Coady was still there in 1898. He had the Railway hotel in 1886. In 1899 Thomas transferred the license of the Aramoho to W. S. POOLE. In Feb 1901 William Shakespeare POOLE (1862-1949) was charged with selling liquor after hours and for permitting drunkenness on the premises. He transferred his license to David Prideaux BARRETT* later that year. David renewed the license in 1902 & 1903
* In June 1911 F. J. PRESTON renewed the license
NOTES about David Prideaux Barrett (1864-1940)
* 8 Feb 1864 he was born in Cornwall, England, 7th of 12 children of Thomas Stanning Barrett & Ann Prideaux
* 8 Oct 1878, at the age of 14 he arrived into Wellington on the Rakaia with his 16 year old brother, Evan Prideaux 'Doc' Barrett (1862-1937) who never married and lived all his life in Wanganui. Other members of their family arrived later and also lived in Wanganui
* On 11 July 1885 he married Louisa Maria STREETER (1865-1957) & had 6 children
* In 1893 he was a Baker/Confectioneer at Wicksteed Place, Wanganui
* In 1892 his wife commenced business in Wanganui in drapery & millinery
* In 1893 he gave up his bakery and started hawking drapery
* In 1894 he opened a drapery & millinery business in Fergusson St., Feilding in his wife's name
* In Feb 1895 their business premises and that of Mr Prior the solicitor, was destroyed by fire
* In 1896 he was running the Colyton Hotel. In Dec that year he obtained the lease of the Manchester Hotel, Feilding, from W. T. Watts and in Feb 1897 he transferred the license of the Colyton Hotel to George Nicholas
* In Oct 1900 he transferred the license of the Manchester Hotel in Feilding to Michael Cooney Ryan
* In 1901 he obtained the license of the Aramoho Hotel as above and renewed the license in 1902 & 1903
* In June 1908 he again had the Manchester Hotel in Feilding
* In Aug 1910 he was the Licensee of the Trafalgar Hotel in Nelson and renewed the license in 1911
* On 23 Jan 1918 brother Jabez (aka James) Barrett (1876-1918), Sapper 4/1990 died of his wounds in France
* In April 1918 he was charged in the Feilding court with supplying Cyril Avery (Cyril Mostyn 'Sam' Avery 1898-1975) & Neil Larsen (Neil John Larsen 1904-1983), both under the age of 21, with shandies (half beer, half lemonade)
* 15 Feb 1940 David died in Wellington aged 76 & buried Karori
* 23 Oct 1957 his wife Louisa died in Ranfurly Hospital aged 91 & cremated at Kelvin Grove

BEN NEVIS HOTEL, Turakina
* In 1870 J. K. PRICE renewed the license
* In Aug 1876 Messrs Ashforth & Liffiton auctioned the stock and furniture of the hotel, the lease being purchased by Mr CUMBERLAND
* In 1894 Alexander McDONALD renewed his license

BRIDGE HOTEL, on the banks of the Wangaehu river
* In 1885 John McDonald's application was granted
* In June 1892 Angus McDONALD's application for the old-established hotel was granted. In 1894 he renewed his license
* In 1897 it contained the Post Office where Mrs HILLIER was the postmistress and mail was received and despatched daily. Mr Hillier had the hotel license
an 1898 Inspector's report (proprietor in brackets): No complaints; in fair repair and fairly furnished, fire escapes provided
* Jeremiah O'LEARY was there in 1901. In 1892 his license had been renewed for the Empire Hotel in Waimate, Canterbury
Wanganui Chronicle, 19 June 1902 Mr Marshall said that since the meeting of the Committee on Monday the owners had had a conference with the licensee and were nor prepared to go on with the building of a new hotel according to the plans submitted to the Committee. The owners would undertake to proceed with the building of the hotel at once

CASTLECLIFF HOTEL
* E. KENNEDY was granted the license
* John DAVEY in 1891
* Thomas J. BENNETT in 1898
an 1898 Inspector's report (proprietor in brackets): (Bennett) - Middling; licensee was fined L5 and costs for unlawful Sunday trade 29/1/98. One storey house, in middling order, furniture middling
* In 1902 the assistant health officer, Alfred Henry Kendal stated he found the place to be in a very unsatisfactory state. The license was renewed to M. A. NEILL as long as a new building was erected as soon as the present lease expired
* In June 1903 George S. BROWN renewed the license
* In June 1911 Bessie DOOLEY renewed the license
* In 1916 D. M. WILSON renewed his license

CASTLECLIFF PRIVATE HOTEL
* In Nov 1915 Mrs E. TOWLER opened the private hotel at Castlecliff charging 6s 6d per day or 35s per week

CHAVANNE'S HOTEL, Victoria Avenue
(see also VICTORIA HOTEL below)
* In 1902 Edith REID transferred her license to James Sydney PALMER. The chairman drew attention to the fact that the hotel had recently changed hands and expressed the opinion that it was not in the interests of the public that there should be such frequent changes. It was noticeable that hotels like Chavannes and Fosters which had been under the same proprietorship for years were conducted better that where a licensee took over a hotel for a short time at a high rental.
* In 1918 was being run by Mr J. G. SWAN

CLARENDON HOTEL, Waverley
* James O'HALLORAN in 1891

COMMERCIAL HOTEL, Harrison Place
* In 1870 P. B. ROSS renewed the license
* In June 1876 James J. ANDERSON renewed his license
* George HOWE in 1878
* Arthur H. WOOLLEY in 1878
* In 1883 Julia PRICE renewed her license
* In 1888 C. LAIRD was there
* In 1894 J. CATTELL renewed his license
* In 1902 L. J. LLOYD renewed his license
* In June 1903 Andrew SUMMERS renewed his license
* In 1904 J. C. PALMER renewed his license
* In June 1911 H. J. TYRRELL renewed the license
* It was originally named the Hibernian hotel & later the Anchor

CUSTOMHOUSE HOTEL, Ridgway Street
* John BRENNAN in 1873. He owned the Metropolitan hotel in 1901
* Frank LEDBURY (1837-1880) in 1873
* In June 1876 James THURSTON renewed his license
* In 1891 Thomas McLENNAN renewed his license
* In 1894 John BRENNAN renewed his license

CRITERION HOTEL, Ridgway Street
* Hugh MORROW there in 1867. In 1897 he had been there for 30 years and disposed of his freehold of the hotel to Mrs TABOR of New Plymouth who in turn leased it to Thomas COADY who was so well and favorably known in Wellington and particularly the Hutt
an 1898 Inspector's report (proprietor in brackets): (Cody/Coady) - Fairly well; in fair repair, fairly furnished, fire escapes provided
* In 1902 John JARVIS, as licensee, was in trouble for selling liquor on a Sunday
* By 1908 it had become Criterion House, a boarding establishment

EMPIRE HOTEL, corner Wicksteed Place & Campbell Place (opposite Phoenix Hotel)
* In 1870 C. P. O'HANLON renewed the license
* D. McGREGOR was there in 1873
* In June 1876 James S. CAMPBELL renewed his license. Still there in 1878
* In 1883 Mrs BALLAM (formerly of Waverley) took over from Mrs POWER
* In 1904 an application to transfer the license from George BLEASEL (1879-1939) to William Henry BLEASEL (1855-1905) was granted. William died suddenly in the night at the Hotel on 22 Oct 1905 from erysipelas of the throat

EMPIRE TEMPERANCE HOTEL, corner Wicksteed St & Campbell Place
* J. SHELLEY in 1878. For many years it was known as the Empire Hotel but, along with a number of others, had the license discontinued. Mr Shelley bought it in order that he might increase his accommodation, already owning the 'Buffet' in Victoria Ave
* In 1888 E. McELWAIN renewed the license

FEDERAL HOTEL
- This was the Railway Hotel until 1904 when Mr TREADWELL was granted permission to change the name of the new building and Charles SIDDELLS was the proprietor
* In 1916 A. GRYLLS renewed his license

FORDER'S TEMPERANCE HOTEL, Victoria Avenue (built 1879, opened early 1880)
- It was built by Forder on the left hand side of the thoroughfare, a few yards above Guyton street and immediately adjoining the owner's horse and carriage repository. Consisting of 2 stories, ten rooms on the ground floor including bar, kitchen, dining room, billiard room and several parlors. Upstairs there were 20 bed, bath and sitting rooms.

FOSTER'S HOTEL, Taupo Quay - established 1857
(originally the Steam Packet Hotel)
* In 1894 William Henry George FOSTER renewed his license. Still there in 1907 when he retired and his son took over
an 1898 Inspector's report (proprietor in brackets): (Foster) - Fairly well; in good repair, well furnished and provided with fire escapes and ropes
* In 1916 John Robert FOSTER (his son) renewed his license
... a handsome three-storeyed building of brick and wood. On the ground floor there are seven sitting-rooms, including commercial, writing, and club rooms, a handsome dining hall, with accommodation for a large number of guests, and a fine, well-lighted billiard-room, containing one of Alcock's tables. The first and second floors contain sixty-two rooms, including two sitting-rooms and lounge. The hotel is lighted throughout with electric light, and has a splendid independent supply of artesian water. There are also two extensive roofed balconies, which serve as sitting-rooms during the greater part of the year, and from which a magnificent view of the Wanganui river is obtainable. In conjunction with the hotel, the proprietor farms forty-eight acres at Sedgwick, which farm supplies butter, milk, eggs, vegetables, and fruit for the requirements of the hotel ...
* In 1918 Mr Foster wanted to demolish the hotel and rebuild on the same site but owing to the serious effect the war was having on all building operations his proposal to convert the corner building, of which he had secured a lease, into a hotel, he instead was permitted a temporary permit for 3 years to join the hotel on Taupo Quay to the wooden building on the corner of Victoria Ave
NOTE about William Henry George Foster (1853-1914)

HIBERNIAN HOTEL
* James LEYDON was there in 1878. He previously had the Royal Oak (see below). James died there in Sep 1879
Wanganui Chronicle, 29 September 1879 SUDDEN DEATH - Mr James Leydon, of the Hibernian Hotel, late of H.M.'s 12th regiment, died very suddenly yesterday morning aged 63 years. He was up and about as usual in the early part of the day, but being suddenly seized with painful and alarming symptoms, his medical adviser and Father Kirk wwere both sent for without delay. However, before these gentlemen arrived, Mr Leydon had breathed his last.
- changed to the ANCHOR Hotel & later the COMMERCIAL Hotel

HOTEL BRAEBURN, Wanganui Street
- mock Tudor style, private hotel (Telephone Exchange No.600) situated on an elevated site on Anzac Parade was opened Monday 15 Nov 1915 just before the Wanganui Show

KAI IWI HOTEL
* In 1876 William TINGEY applied for a renewal of his license. The police objected because of the filthy state of the house and gambling being permitted. License was granted after cautions
* R. E. TINGEY had it in 1878
- An interesting read on this hotel in 1884
* In 1887 C. E. GREAGOR took over the license. Still there in 1893
an 1898 Inspector's report (proprietor in brackets): (Tawse) - No complaints; in good repair and well furnished, fire escape ropes in bedrooms
* In 1901 W. G. NICHOLSON applied for a renewal. He had installed fire escape ropes in all the upstairs bedrooms. The application was granted. He again renewed it in 1902
* In 1918 when the license renewal was applied for the police report was unfavorable. The building was in a bad state and the committee were of the opinion that the hotel should be rebuilt

KENNEDY'S HOTEL
an 1898 Inspector's report (proprietor in brackets): (Rowe) - No complaints; in fair repair, fairly furnished, fire escape ropes provided

MANGAMAHU FAMILY HOTEL
* In 1894 Arthur ELLIS renewed his accommodation license
Wanganui Chronicle, 3 June 1904 We hear on reliable authority that Mr P. S. LACY has brought the freehold of the Mangamahu Family Hotel form Messrs Ellis and Robinson, at a figure close to L4000. The licensee, now owner, intends in the near future to carry out a lot of improvements, both inside and out. The grounds about this hotel can be made very beautiful by a little expenditure of capital and labour on tree planting, shrubberies, etc., and the house itself will be put in thorough repair from top to bottom, which, no doubt the local settlers and travelling public will appreciate

MASONIC HOTEL, Plymouth Street & River Bank (12 rooms)
* Charles BATT there in 1867
* In 1870 J. NEILSON renewed the license
* In June 1876 Catherine NEILSON renewed her license
* In 1878 the Sub-Inspector objected to the renewal of the license to Robert SHEARER as the applicant neglected to support a wife and family in destitution in Glasgow. The Court ruled that the family would be in more distress if they took away the applicants means of obtaining a livelihood
* In 1884 Eric Henry Oscar SUISTED applied for a renewal of the license. Still there in 1888
* William B. PATRICK was there in 1891
* In May 1894 Arthur H. WOOLLEY transferred the license back to Charles BATT
an 1898 Inspector's report (proprietor in brackets): (Hintz) Prior to December indifferently and since that fairly well; part of it very old and the rooms low; in moderate order, furniture middling. Police comment: None for this quarter, beyond that the house is not up to the average standard required for licensed houses in this town
* William Henry BLEASEL (1855-1905) there in 1900 when he thoroughly renovated and scrupulously cleaned it up. He renewed his license in 1902
* In June 1911 A. McQUIRE renewed the lease
* In 1916 A. MANGUSON renewed his license

MAXWELLTOWN HOTEL
* In 1876 William CAMBELL renewed his License then transferred to James ANTHONY. He was still there in April 1878 when the hotel was totally destroyed by fire. The house was owned by Messrs Taylor and Watt
* James Anthony (1841-1828) married Mary Hogan (1855-1932) 3 Aug 1876. They had a son, Alfred William James Anthony (1877-1951) who was 11 months old at time of the fire. Mary gave birth to David Henry Anthony (1878-1948) 2 months after the fire. They also had twins Thomas (1882-1961) & Eliza (1882-1954) & Florence Anthony (1890-)
James reopened the 'new' Maxwelltown Hotel in Sep 1878, transferred the license to Thomas Poole in May 1879 and then bought the lease of the Waitotara Hotel in the same month. A meeting of his creditors in June 1880. In March 1895 he was living at Castlecliff when charged in Court that he had failed to support his destitute mother. He stated that he was willing to support her in his own house but could not do so outside. She said she could not live in the house owing to disagreement with her daughter-in-law. He was ordered to pay her 5s a week and his brothers should also contribute

McCARTHY'S FAMILY HOTEL, Taupo Quay
- built c1869 opposite the Railway Station
owned by Martin O'HARA from 1891, leased by Charles James McCARTHY in 1897
* In 1892 Charles was granted the publican's license for the Rutland Hotel
* On 20 March 1897 he took a 10 year lease of this building and it became McCarthy's Family Hotel
an 1898 Inspector's report : Fairly well; in good repair and fairly furnished; fire escapes, ropes and stairs, ladder for balcony
* In the May 1904 flood, the waters extended some distance beyond the Railway Station and water was flowing into McCarthy's Hotel. In fact he was the most unfortunate owner on the Quay. The floor of the building from back to front was covered with over a foot of water and mud.
* In Sep 1904 Mr MARSHALL applied for a renewal of the lease under which Mr McCarthy held the hotel from the owner Mr O'Hara. The Final Warning
* In April 1905 McCarthy's Hotel was destroyed. There were 15 boarders in the house, 6 servants and 5 members of the McCarthy family in the hotel
* 3 May 1905 the FIRE INQUIRY
* In Feb 1906 a pleasant social gathering was held in the cosy dining-room of Mr C. J. McCarthy's new hotel
* In Feb 1906 an old acquaintance of Charles, Mr W. Gordon, of the Survey Office, New Plymouth, was in town. He and Charles had been fellow civil servants in the Oamaru telegraphic 30 years earlier
* 17 Oct 1907 Mr W. J. Walter, Inspector of Meat at Patea was in town on business and was staying at McCarthy's Hotel
* In June 1911 C. J. McCarthy renewed his license
* 14 June 1915 Wanganui Enlistments, C. J. McCarthy, hotel manager, McCarthy's Hotel, Wanganui
* In April 1916 the 'Georgetti Estate' was put up for auction. The country lands comprised 'Papaiti', 5 farms varying from 83 to 195 acres and 'Whataroa' comprising 3 farms varying from 594 to 646 acres. The town lands comprised 3 sections between McCarthy's Hotel and Hatrick & Co's warehouse
NOTE Charles James McCarthy (1861-1926) married Lucy Jane GASQUOINE (1863-1939) in 1886 & had 4 sons

METROPOLITIAN HOTEL, corner Taupo Quay & St Hill St
- established 1890 (52 rooms)
* Henry Hallett MACE there in 1890
... a two-storeyed wooden building, containing about fifty-two rooms. A unique feature of the building is a promenade on the roof, commanding a splendid view of the river and town. On the ground floor is a large dining-room (which has accommodation for 100 guests), a sitting-room, a fine commercial room, the private office, and the public and private bars. The first floor contains the bedrooms, three private sitting-rooms, bathrooms (with hot and cold water laid on), and lavatories. The bar, which is a well-appointed apartment, is stocked with the best ales, spirits, and wines. The Metropolitan is well managed, every care being taken to meet the special needs and wishes of the guests, and a good table is kept ...
NOTE Henry Hallett Mace (1871-1969) was born in New Plymouth to Captain Francis Joseph MACE & Rachel Alice ARDEN. He was a store keeper in Inglewood and Stratford and later a Land Agent in New Plymouth. He had the Bunnythorpe Hotel before taking over the Metropolitan. He married Edith Agnes ELLIS (1866-1948) in 1893 & had 3 children
an 1898 Inspector's report (proprietor in brackets): (Brennan) - No complaints; in good order, well furnished and well provided with fire escapes, stairs and ropes
* In 1901 Edith REID transferred her license to William Robert TUCK. The owner of the hotel was then John BRENNAN
* In 1903 & 1904 Alfred MITCHELL renewed the license
* In June 1911 T. H. Nixon renewed the license
* In 1916 T. H. NIXON transferred the license to J. HANNAN

NEWMARKET HOTEL, Victoria Ave
(later the Imperial Hotel)
* In 1888 J. W. WATKINS renewed his license & obtained a 12 o'clock license
* In 1891 W. R. TUCK renewed his license. Still there in 1894
* In 1898 W. P. STUART, late of Hastings, took it over
an 1898 Inspector's report (proprietor in brackets): (Guthrie) - well conducted; in fair order, fairly furnished, fire escapes provided, stairs and ropes
* In 1902 Margaret STUART'S application for a renewal was held over until the new building was finished
* In 1903 Neill McKenzie FORBES renewed his license. Still there in 1911
* In 1916 Frederick Charles FABER renewed his license

NEW CRITERION HOTEL
* Philip Edmond DOVER in 1901
* In June 1903 David Roux BUISSON applied for a permanent transfer. In answer to the Chairman, counsel stated that the police had reported that a strict watch had been kept on the New Criterion Hotel since the present licensee had been in possession and no trading after hours had been detected; but complaint had been made that the licensee had permitted gambling to take place on his licensed premised on two occasions. Inspector Kelly stated that the police intended to object to the transfer
* In 1916 W. J. WILLIAMS renewed his license

NUKUMARU HOTEL
* In 1876 William HANDLEY renewed his License. Still there in 1893

OCCIDENTAL HOTEL
* W. F. BAKER in 1878
* In 1887 Mr W. HENDLEY renewed his license
* In 1888 W. H. REED renewed his license although the police objected due to the bad repair of the house and with the indifferent characters who frequented. They believed the house should be re-built or repaired to a great extent and if not then it must lose its license. The license was granted on conditions

PHOENIX HOTEL
* opposite the Empire Hotel, see photo at Empire Hotel above
* Frank E. EVANS there in 1873
* In 1876 J. HEYWOOD applied for a renewal but was opposed by the police and neighbours which was considered the worst conducted house in Wanganui.

PIER HOTEL, Taupo Quay
* Martin O'HARA in 1867. He owned the McCarthy Family Hotel in 1891
* In Sep 1876 application was made by Andrew TOD for a license for the house formerly known as the Pier Hotel
* In 1891 S. HOOPER renewed his license

PRINCE OF WALES HOTEL, Taupo Quay
* Jane Hearn RAPLEY there in 1867. Still there in 1876
* Jane (nee Nathan 1832-1912) married James Rapley (1827-1877). Their daughter, Mary Ann Rapley (1864-1936) married Charles Huddell Chevannes, (as his 2nd wife) owner/proprietor of a number of hotels in Wanganui (see Victoria Hotel below). Jane remarried to George Wilson Ormsbee in 1878 (see next)
* George Wilson ORMSBEE there in 1878
* In 1888 J. W. JACKSON renewed his license
* In 1891 Emma SIDDELLS renewed her license

PROVINCIAL HOTEL, Ridgway Street
- established in the 1860s ... one of the oldest licensed houses in the town, and was founded in the sixties. The present building is a two-storeyed one, and contains about fifty rooms. The house is conveniently appointed, and furnished with excellent taste. On the ground floor are four sitting rooms, a commercial room, the dining room (with accommodation for sixty guests), and the bar. The first floor contains two sitting rooms, the bedrooms, bathrooms, and lavatories ...
* Janet BROUGHTON (Mrs H. E. Broughton) had it in 1878. In 1891 she renewed her license. Still there in 1894
an 1898 Inspector's report (proprietor in brackets): (Tuck) - Fairly well; in good repair, well furnished and provided with fire escapes
* In 1902 William LIGHT was granted a renewal
NOTE William Robert Tuck (1856-1935) was born in London, England. He was brought up by his uncle in Liverpool and educated at Battersea College. As a lad he kept his uncle's books and at 19 he emigrated to New Zealand. For a time he conducted a livery stable in Nelson and later one in Wanganui. He was a partner in the firm Messrs Swan and Company, local brewers. He took a keen interest in rowing and is remembered as Webb's backer in the rowing match for the championship of the world, at Sydney, in 1907. He had the Occidental and Newmarket Hotels. Later he visited England and on his return bought the Metropolitan Hotel (there in 1901), which he afterwards sold and acquired the Provincial. He renewed the license in 1916


RAILWAY HOTEL, Taupo Quay
* E. EILERS took over the hotel in July 1876 and made extensive alterations and improvements
* In 1886 Mr BRODIE retired from the business & Thomas COADY was the incoming tenant. Thomas was charged with assaulting and beating Emma Littlewood in 1887 when he swore at her, pulled her around by the ear and pushed her out on the pavement after she refused a drink at the bar. Thomas renewed the license in 1888. He had the ARAMOHO in 1893 from Mrs TUTTY
* In 1889 Thomas Coady transferred the license to John MAHONEY who was still there in 1891
an 1898 Inspector's report (proprietor in brackets): (Hartshore) - Well conducted; in good order, fairly furnished, fire escape, stairs and ropes provided
* In 1902 P. HARTSHORN wanted to renew the license. It was not granted but adjourned to enable plans to be prepared for a new building
* In June 1903 Charles SIDDELLS applied for a renewal. Counsel stated that the licensee was the holder of the freehold and proposed to start at once rebuilding that portion fronting the Market Square and erect a balcony. The portion of the hotel fronting Taupo Quay was in good condition. It was intended ultimately to rebuild the whole
* In 1904 Charles SIDDELLS renewed the license and the name was changed (on request of Mr Treadwell), to the FEDERAL HOTEL after the new building was erected
* In 1909 M. BARRY transferred his license to W. BELLVE

RAILWAY HOTEL, Fordell
* In June 1876 Thomas BROUGH renewed his license
* In 1894 James BENNETT renewed his license
an 1898 Inspector's report (proprietor in brackets): (Fordell-Cooper) - Middling; in fair repair, fairly furnished, fire escape provided
* In 1902 J. COOPER renewed his license

RAILWAY HOTEL, Turakina
* In Sep 1876 the license was granted to Frederick EILERS. A son was born there 18 March 1881, (ALbert Frederick Eilers (1881-1887)
* In 1883 Mr E. ANCHOR, late of the Anchor Hotel, purchased the hotel from Mr MELLHONE
* In May 1894 Joseph RUSCOE transferred the license to Michael O'REILLY
* In 1894 John MAHONEY renewed his license

RED LION HOTEL, Taylorville (Campbelltown)
* photo of the hotel, from Shakespeare Cliff, showing its view of the river (c1860)
* the destruction of the Red Lion Hotel in 1874 when G. ROSS was proprietor
* McDONNELL in 1867
* In 1870 W. COOMBES renewed the license
* In 1885 John ROBERTSON had the license cancelled on the ground that the previous licensee, who had been refused a license, had been carrying on the business, refusing Robertson the transfer of the lease and management
* In 1887 H. G. WALLER's application was granted
* In 1894 Frederic Louis Kossuth HILL* renewed his license. In June 1889 he purchased Mr W. H. HUTSON's interest in the wholesale wine and spirit business in Hawera
an 1898 Inspector's report (proprietor in brackets): (Killeen) - Fairly well; some-what out of repair, moderately furnished, fire escape, stairs and ropes provided, also ladder for balcomy. Police objection: This house will need considerable repairs before the annual meeting
* John William PEMBERTON in 1901
* In 1902 George COTTERELL was granted a renewal. In June 1903 George applied for a transfer. The Council applied that the name of Cottrell should be substituted for that of John Cameron, The Chairman stated that the Committee had no objection whatever to Mr Cameron, who they thought a desirable person to hold the license, but the formalities of the Act with regard to advertising and giving the public an opportunity of objecting had not been complied with - application granted under section 94
* In June 1911 J. CAMERON renewed the license
* In 1916 J. W. MILLS renewed his license
NOTES about Frederic Louis Kossuth HILL (1851-1914)
* born 1851 in Nottingham, England
* married in Christchurch in 1882 to Pamela Kate GODSO (?-1903) in 1882 & had 3 children in Ashburton
* In 1882 he had the Somerset Hotel in Ashburton, leased from Mr Robert William Shearman who died accidentally aged 41. Still there in 1885
* In June 1886 he took the license of the Lincoln Hotel in Christchurch from D. W. Bartram. Still there in 1889
* In May 1894 he renewed the license of the Red Lion in Wanganui, as above
* In 1897 he purchased the goodwill of the Provincial Hotel in Napier, then held by Mr Jubal Fleming. He transferred the license in June 1899 to J. W. McDuff
* In June 1899 his partner George Shaw, wool carder, was bankrupt. Frederick had invested L350 (2014 equivalent of $62,268)
* He was in Hawera in 1900
* In Jan 1902 Mr A. J. Whittaker of Hawera was holidaying in Europe; Sydney to Fremantle to Colombo to Aden to Suez to Marseilles, then on to London & Glasgow. France, Denmark & Ceylon. He said among those he met at 'Home' was the Sheriff of Nottingham, the uncle of Mr F. L. K. Hill of Hawera
* In June 1902 he was granted a wholesale liquor license in Hawera
* In May 1903 Mr G. Stringer, liquidator in Frederick's estate, asked for a transfer of the lease in Princes street, Hawera from Frederick to Mr H. King. He asked for a rebate in the amount of rent due
* In Dec 1903 his wife Pamela died at sea
Wanganui Chronicle, 7 December 1903 HILL - Pamela Kate, on board the Moeraki, on December 1, two days from Sydney, wife of Mr F. L. K. Hill, daughter of W. Godso, Wanganui
* Frederick died 26 Nov 1914 from Bronchitis in Christchurch aged 63 and buried Plot 279, Block 20 at Linwood

RIVER BANK HOTEL
* the building was erected in 1876. William McDONALD applied for a liquor license but the Councel refused a License on the unanimous decision that opening a hotel in the neighbourhood was undesirable

ROYAL OAK HOTEL
Wanganui Chronicle, 23 October 1874 ROYAL OAK HOTEL - Yesterday the Royal Oak Hotel, Market Square, was offered at auction by Mr CHADWICK and knocked down to Mr Joseph Nathan for L1000 (Oct 2013 equivalent of $128,000)
* In April 1874 James LEYDON renewed his license & complained to the Council about the drainage to his property and the state of the road. He renewed the license again in 1875
* In 1875 the public were notified that in future the booking office and starting place for Messrs Cockery's line of coaches would be the Steam packet Hotel instead of the Royal Oak
* In 1876 James Leydon renewed the license & complained to the Council of the broken culvert in front of his premises by which an accumulation of surface water was a source of annoyance to himself and pedestrians. In 1877 he had the Hibernian. He died suddenly in Sep 1879 (see Hibernian)


RUTLAND HOTEL, corner Ridgway St & Victoria Ave
* established in 1845 & about 70 rooms, it was rebuilt in brick in 1904 to 3 storeys
* In March 1862 a farewell dinner was held here for Mr Treweek from Kai Iwi
* SULLIVAN in 1867
* In June 1876 Pierre 'Peter' George Alexandre CHAVANNES renewed the license. Still there in 1878 (had the Victorian Hotel in Dunedin in 1862. Had the New Zealander Hotel, Manners St., Wellington in 1865 which, by 1915, no longer existed). He was the father of Charles Huddell Chavannes, mentioned many times here
* In 1888 A. J. PARSONS renewed his license
* In 1892 Charles James McCarthy had the license. He later had his own hotel, see above
* In 1894 C. J. McCARTHY renewed his license
an 1898 Inspector's report (proprietor in brackets): (Sullivan) - Fairly well; building very old and worse of wear; kitchen and scullery quite unfit for the purpose; should be re-built; furniture fairly good. Police objections - No objections at present, but building requires great improvement before annual meeting. The building is quite out of proportion to the requirements of the site
* Frederick Charles FABER in 1901, renewed it in 1902 & 1903
* In June 1911 Thomas Lawless renewed the license
* In 1916 S. L. PARSONS renewed his license

SHAMROCK HOTEL
* Mr T. (or P.) O'RILEY there in 1867 & renewed the license in 1870

SHIP HOTEL, corner of Taupo Quay & Wilson St
(also see Ship Hotel c1870)
- opposite the railway station, it later became a temperance boarding establishment of 39 bedrooms. Renamed the Wanganui Coffee Palace and run by Miss Jane DOBLE
* In June 1876 H. LITTLEWOOD renewed his license
* R. W. LITTLEWOOD in 1878
* In 1888 W. ODGERS renewed his license. The police were now satisfied with the way it was now conducted

St JOHN'S BUSH HOTEL
* James CATHRO (1818-1892) had the license in 1868. In Jan 1878 James transferred the license to John RAWLINGS. In 1875 James was ordered to the Lunatic Asylum in Wellington. In Sep 1875 his wife Catherine Hannah (nee PARKES) died in Victoria Ave aged 50. They had a son Henry Samuel Cathro (1862-1955)
* In June 1876 J. RAWLINGS
* Thomas Henry WIXCEY in 1884. Thomas (1848-1921) married Mary Ann WINDSOR (1851-1916) in 1869 & had at least 8 children. Their son Charles Wixcey (1887-1907) drowned at Castlecliff when bathing with some friends
* In 1888 E. HACKETT renewed his license

STEAM PACKET HOTEL, nearly opposite the bridge, Taupo Quay
(later named Fosters Hotel, see above)
* William Henry George FOSTER
* the proprietor, JOHN DAVIDSON, died there June 1867
* In 1870 G. H. BLAIR applied for a transfer and renewal of the license. He renewed his license in 1876
* W. PATERSON there in 1878

TEMPERANCE HOTEL, Ridgway Street
established about 1878, the first of its kind in Wanganui
* Mrs Annie Adelia HENLEY (1855-1913), who was born in Wellington, was there 1878. She died in Auckland

THE EXCHANGE HOTEL, corner Taupo Quay & Market Square
* In 13 Jan 1868 a meeting of the creditors of William TESTAR/TESTER, late landlord of the hotel was held and a dividend of 9d in the pound declared. He was from Datchet, Berkshire, England and died 12 Nov 1891 at Bell Street aged 77. His wife, Davida Craig Wright died 10 Feb 1899 aged 76
* In 1870 A. BENNET renewed the license

TRAVELLERS REST, Tutaenui
* John MATTHEW there in 1867

VICTORIA HOTEL, corner Victoria Ave & Maria Place
(this may be what they called 'Chavannes Hotel')
- two stories, about 50 rooms, including 49 bedrooms, a ladies' drawing room, commercial and writing rooms, two sitting rooms and a large and well-appointed dining hall
* In June 1876 J. W. ROBINSON renewed his license
* C. H. CHAVANNES renewed his license in 1881. Still there in 1894
the demolition of original building Chavanne's Victoria Hotel 1870
Chavanne's second hotel, on the site of Victoria Hotel
NOTES about Charles Huddell CHEVANNES (1854-1934)
* born in Wanganui to Pierre 'Peter' George Alexandre CHAVANNES (1826-1879, from Jamaica) & Agnes HUDDELL (1822-1879)
* In 1879 Charles married Emily Ann Davidson and had a daughter, (1879-1930) Hilda Isabella Agnes Chavannes. Emily died in July 1881 aged 25.
Wanganui Herald, 2 July 1881 CHAVANNES - On the 1st instant, at Wanganui, Emily Ann, the beloved wife of Mr Charles Huddell Chavannes, aged 35 years. Friends are informed that the funeral of the late Mrs Charles H. Chavannes will leave the Victoria Hotel on Sunday afternoon, the 3rd inst, at 4 o'clock
* In 1885 Charles remarried to Mary Ann 'Polly' Rapley (1864-1936). Daughter of James Rapley (1827-1877), who arrived with the 65th into Bay of Island 19 Nov 1846 and of Jane Hearn Nathan (1832-1912), born in London to Henry Nathan & Jane Hearn who emigrated to NZ in 1841. Her father James died in Christchurch aged 50 when Polly was 13. Her mother Jane had the Prince of Wales hotel in Wanganui for quite some time (see above), she remarried to George Wilson Orsmbee in 1878 and he took over the license.
* In 1886 Charles & Polly had a son, Charles Huddell Chavannes (1886-1924) who married Christina Colquhoun Scott in 1907 and had a son they also named Charles Huddell Chavannes (1911-1983)
an 1898 Inspector's report (proprietor in brackets): (Chavannes) - well conducted; in excellent order, well furnished and well provided with fire escapes
* James Sydney Palmer renewed his license in 1903. James was born in London and educated partly there and later in Forfarshire, Scotland. He came to New Zealand in 1878, settled in Christchurch and was in the railway service for 12 years. He was transferred to Wellington and was in the General Manager's office until 1896, when he retired to take up a hotel in Feilding. In 1902 he moved to Wanganui and took over the Victoria Hotel
* In June 1911 J. G. Swan renewed the license

WANGANUI HOTEL
* In 1870 D. ATKINSON renewed the license
* In June 1876 Alfred MULLER renewed his license
* Joseph CHADWICK there in 1878

WANGANUI TEMPERANCE HOTEL, corner Bell St & Campbell Place
- Formerly the Wanganui Hotel
* Mrs E. REES, who was born in Picton, on the death of her husband, went into business to provide for her family. She bought it for the purposes of a general boarding-house. Her husband was a licensed interpreter and commission agent in Wanganui and his father and uncle were doctors in Wanganui

NOTES
1878
The WANGANUI BREWERY is established in Market Square
- GIBBONS & HOLE are the proprietors in 1898

1880
RULES & FEES

No sale of intoxicating drinks being allowed on Sundays except to travellers or lodgers, but railway licenses are not subject to any restrictions of this kind. Christmas and Good Friday are to be regarded as if they were Sundays, and no female, except the wife or daughter of the licensee is to be employed in the bar for more than 10 hours a day or after 11 p.m., with or without consent
THE SCALE OF LICENSE FEES
* For a publicans' license within the limits of any borough: 40 pounds. Outside the aforesaid limits: 30 pounds
* For a family hotel: 20 pounds
* For a billiard-table: 10 pounds
* For a conditional license: not exceeding 30 pounds
* For a packet license: 10 pounds (see notes)
* For a club license: 20 pounds
* For a wholesale license: 10 pounds

1881
Clause 124 of the Licensing Act, 1881, says:- Every licensed publican shall keep a lamp fixed over the door of his Licensed premises, or within 20 feet thereof, lighted during the whole of every night, from sunset to sunrise, during the time of his holding such license.

1882
A meeting of licensed victuallers and others interested in the amendment of the Licensing Act was held at the Rutland Hotel to adopt the petition as drafted for submission to Parliament, Those present were:
Mr ANCHOR
Mr BRENNAN
Mr EVANS
Mr JACKSON
Mr McILHONE
Mr MORROW
Mr SUISTED
Mr WATT (chairman)
Mr WILLIAMS
Mr WINTER
Mr WIXCEY

In the early 1900s there were licensed River Steamers in Wanganui. They were called 'Packet Licenses' and the Maori strongly opposed to intoxicating liquor being brought into native kainga. This led to a number of conditions.
Some of the steamers:
The Otunui, The Ohura (launched 1897), The Waione, The Wairere, The Waiora, The Wairua, The Whakapai
see also Wanganui and the River Boats

*Thomas DAULTON + Sarah Jane HUDSON - Te Arai

Thomas DAULTON (1852-1907)
...married 5 March 1881 to:
Sarah Jane HUDSON (1864-1947)

They were storekeepers at Te Arai, Manutuke, Gisborne district

the known children of THOMAS & SARAH
... 1
1882 - 1903 Thomas Miles Daulton
Hawke's Bay Herald, 13 February 1882 - DAULTON
At Wanstead, on the 8th February, the wife of Thomas Daulton, of a son - Auckland papers please copy
Thomas was a Shepherd
In January 1893 (aged 11) Thomas won a hunting crop for coming 1st at the Te Arai School Picnic
Thomas served in the South African War as Trooper 6330 & 8188 with the 9th New Zealand Mounted Rifles. He embarked from Auckland 1 Feb 1902. His next of kin was his father at Te Arai Bridge, Gisborne. Thomas died from an abscess on the brain 3 March 1903 in Te Arai, Gisborne.
Press, 3 March 1903 - DEATH OF A TROOPER
Thomas Daulton, aged 21, died tonight. He was a member of the Seventh Contingent, and was injured by a fall from a horse in South Africa. On the voyage our he contracted pneumonia. He recovered somewhat on landing, but an abscess near the brain set in. He was a very popular young fellow


... 2
1883 - 1969 Joseph Edward 'Joe' Daulton
Joseph was in Second Grade at Matawhero School 1889-1890
JOSEPH married Gladys Catherine CRAILL (1895-1970) in 1916
1 of 4 daughters of Henry 'Harry' CRAILL & Catherine Mary ROBB
- Henry Craill was the manager of John Clark's 11,000 acre, Te Arai station


... 3
1885 - 1918 William Charles Daulton
In January 1893 (aged 8) William came 2nd (race not specified) at the Te Arai School Picnic
William served in WWI as Trooper 11/1788 with the 7th Reinforcements, Wellington Mounted Rifles. He embarked from Wellington 9 Oct 1915. His next of kin was his brother Joe at Manutuke, Gisborne. William died of his wounds 23 Dec 1916 in Egypt & is buried Grave A.194 at Kantara War Memorial Cemetery, Egypt
Poverty Bay Herald, 22 December 1917 - DAULTON
In loving memory of Trooper William Daulton, killed in action in Egypt on December 23rd, 1916
...Far away from those who loved you,
...Gently soliers laid you to rest;
...In far off Egypt you're only sleeping,
...One of God's brightest and best.
- Inserted by M. McDowell


... 4
1887 - 1921 George Michael Daulton
In January 1893 (aged 6) George came 1st (race not specified) at the Te Arai School Picnic
George served in WWI as Private 57044 with the NZEF, 29th Reinforcements F Company. He embarked from Wellington 13 August 1917 for Glasgow. His next of kin was his mother at Manutuke, Gisborne
George was a storekeeper in his fathers store


... 5
1889 - 1955 Bertha Jane Daulton
BERTHA married Frederick Hugh SNOWDEN (1884-1946) in 1912
Frederick served in WWI as Lance Corporal 30303 with the New Zealand Rifle Brigade, 14th Reinforcements 2nd Battalion, (F Company). He embarked from Wellington 30 Dec 1916. Bertha was his next of kin at Manutuke.
A son, William Hugh Snowden, was Killed in Action 25 Oct 1942 aged 22 and is buried El Alamein War Cemetery


... 6
1891 - 1891 Mary Catherine Daulton
Mary died 6 April 1891 aged 2 months
she is buried Plot 230, Block MKB at Makaraka cemetery


... 7
1892 - 1918 Royal Frederick 'Roy' Daulton
Roy was a storekeeper in his fathers store
Roy served in WWI as Rifleman 18630 with the New Zealand Rifle Brigade, 9th Reinforcements 2nd Battalion, F Company. He embarked from Wellington 26 July 1916. His next of kin was his mother at Manutuke, Gisborne. Roy was killed in action 12 Sep 1918 at Havrincourt, France & is buried Grave V. D. 17. at Metz-en-Couture Communal Cemetery British Extension, Pas-de-Calais, France
Poverty Bay Herald, 26 September 1918 - DAULTON
Killed in action in France, September 12th, 1918, Royal Frederick Daulton, beloved fifth son of Mrs Daulton, Manutuke, aged 26 years. R.I.P.


... 8
1894 - 1965 Catherine Elma Daulton
CATHERINE married James JOBSON (1892-1960) in 1921
son of William JOBSON & Mary DIXON
- James served in WWI as Trooper 11/1813
JAMES died 19 March 1960 aged 67
CATHERINE died 16 August 1965 aged 71
they are buried Plot 28, Block 27 at Taruheru cemetery
their HEADSTONE READS:
...REMEMBRANCE
11/1813 Sgt JAMES JOBSON, 1892-1960
CATHERINE ELMA JOBSON, 1894-1965


... 9
1896 - 1961 Harold John Daulton
Harold was a Coach Driver
Harold served in WWI as Rifleman 18629 with the New Zealand Rifle Brigade, 9th Reinforcements 2nd Battalion, F Company. He embarked from Wellington 26 July 1916. His next of kin was his mother at Manutuke, Gisborne (enlisted same time, served with the same unit & embarked with brother Frank)
HAROLD married Clara Isabel BATEMAN (1900-1982) in 1923
daughter of Aldeberontifus James BATEMAN & Mary Ann/Marianne KILLGOUR of Parawai


... 10
1898 - 1964 Frank Hudson Daulton
Frank was a Labourer
Frank served in WWI as Rifleman 18628 with the New Zealand Rifle Brigade, 9th Reinforcements 2nd Battalion, F Company. He embarked from Wellington 26 July 1916. His next of kin was his mother at Manutuke, Gisborne (enlisted same time, served with the same unit & embarked with brother Harold)


... 11
1900 - 1978 Ernest Robert Daulton
ERNEST married Euphemia Mabel McGOUGAN (1904-1977) in 1923
daughter of Samuel & Mary/May McGOUGAN


... 12
1902 - 1992 Mary Margaret Anne Daulton
MARY married George Oscar LORD (1903-) in 1924
son of George Clement LORD (1870-1948) & Gertrude Maud BAKER
grandson of Jabez LORD & Mary Ann SPENCER


... 13
1904 - 1970 Christina Milesina Gertrude Daulton
CHRISTINA married Willitt Hamilton Harper HOLLIS (1898-1974) in 1923
son of James Richard HOLLIS & Annie Prophet HARPER


... 14
1907 - 1997 Thomas Miles Daulton
nothing else known


Thomas DAULTON died 7 October 1907 aged 55
Poverty Bay Herald, 8 October 1907
An old and highly respected resident, Mr Thomas Daulton, of Te Arai, died last evening, and the funeral leaves the family residence at Te Arai to-morrow afternoon. Mr Daulton had been ailing for some time past, but his death came as a shock to his wife and family and many friends. He was well-known throughout the district, having kept a store for many years at Te Arai, where he took a keen interest in school matters and all other local affairs.
Poverty Bay Herald, 10 October 1907 The interment of the late Mr Thomas Daulton, of Te Arai, took place at Makaraka cemetery yesterday afternoon and was attended by a large number of country settlers, together with several residents from town, including the representatives of various warehouse firms. Half a dozen Te Arai settlers acted as pall bearers, whilst the funeral service at the grave side was conducted by the Rev Fathers Land and Dignan


TIMELINE
Poverty Bay Herald, 4 May 1896
Mr Daulton, of the Arai store, notifies that residents of that district are under no necessity to come to town for goods, as he is selling his large stock at lowest town prices

Poverty Bay Herald, 16 September 1899
The annual general meeting of the Te Arai Cricket Club was hel at Mr Evans's residence at Te Arai on Thursday evening last. There were about a dozen members present, and the President, Mr C. Evans occupied the chair. The following officers were elected for the coming year:-
President, Mr Chas. Evans (re-elected)
Vice-Presidents, Messrs J. Woodbine-Johnson, C. White, A. Dewing, J. Clark (re-elected) and Mr Thos. Daulton

PHOTO
(as at time of writing photos will not upload on this site)
Plot 1036, Block MKF at Makaraka cemetery

HEADSTONE READS:
DAULTON
In Loving Memory of
THOMAS 1852 - 1907
SARAH JANE 1864 - 1947
GEORGE 1887 - 1921
WILLIAM & ROY Killed in Action 1917

*William CLARK + Wilhemina PATON

WILLIAM CLARK (1838-1932)
was born in Haley Hill, Halifax, England
son of Charles CLARK (1818-1909) & Dinah JOWETT (1815-1894)

CHARLES & DINAH arrived on the Indus 1843 with:
* 1838 - 1932 William Clark
William married Wilhemina Paton in 1864 (see *triple wedding below)
- they had 8 known children (listed below)

* 1840 - 1908 Sarah Ann Clark
Sarah had a daughter: 1858-1938 Elizabeth 'Lizzie' Heath (adopted by grandparents Charles & Dinah and became Lizzie Clark)
Sarah married John James Stanaway (1813-1874) in 1861
- they had 7 known children
Sarah next married George Edward Sanders (1849-1914) in 1876
- they had 7 known children
2 more siblings were born in Nelson:
* 1844 - 1904 Hannah Maria Clark
Hannah married John Paton in 1864 (see *triple wedding below)
- they had 15 known children
* 1845 - 1901 George Clark
George married Harriet Wooderson (1855-1937) in 1881
- they had 11 known children
George & Harriet became the grandparents of Sir Edmund Hillary in 1919

* photo of CHARLES & DINAH Clark
* family group photo of the Clark family 1865 at Whakahara

WILHEMINA 'Amelia' PATON (1848-1906)
was born in Auckland, New Zealand
daughter of Joseph John PATON (1813-1844) & Margaret LOWE (1815-1880)

JOSEPH & MARGARET arrived on the Fifeshire 1842 with:
* 1837 - 1923 John Paton
John married Hannah Maria Clark in 1864 (see *triple wedding below)
- they had 15 known children
* 1839 - 1917 Elizabeth 'Betsy' Paton
Elizabeth married Charles Price in 1853 in Matamata
- they had 6 known children
* 1841 - 1914 Jemima Craigdille Paton
Jemima married Edmund 'Ned' Ruff (1797-1881) in 1854!
- Ned died in Mangarama, Northern Wairoa
Jemima next married John Quirk (1837-1894) in 1884
- they had a daughter: 1885-1978 Ann Quirk
2 more siblings were born in NZ:
* 1843 - 1899 William Paton
William married Delina McLeod (1866-1959) in Auckland in 1865
- they had 11 known children
* 1848 - 1906 Wilhemina 'Amelia' Paton
Wilhemina married William Clark in 1864 (see *triple wedding below)
- they had 8 known children (listed below)


William & Wilhemina married 23 Jan 1864 at her parents home Whakahara, Northern Wairoa in a triple wedding:
*William Clark (1838-1932) married *Wilhemina Paton (1848-1906)
**John Paton (1838-1923) married **Hannah Maria Clark (1844-1904)
*** Mary Ann Stanaway (1843-1909) married Thomas James Russell

*William Clark & *Wilhemina Paton, subjects of this journal
**John Paton was a brother of *Wilhemina Paton
- his wife **Hannah Maria Clark, was a sister of *William Clark
***Mary Ann Stanaway, was a daughter of John James Stanaway (1813-1874) & his 1st wife, Witaparene Minapara who married in 1842. John James Stanaway remarried to *William & **Hannah's sister, Sarah Ann Clark (1840-1908) as his 3rd wife in 1861

William & Wilhemina had 8 children
(born in Northern Wairoa)
... 1
1865 - 1916 Richard James Clark
RICHARD married Eunice Maud FORDHAM (1862-1915) in 1889
- they had 7 known children:
* 1890 - 1950 Wilfrid Sydney Clark (+ Ada Louisa Martin)
* 1891 - 1942 Harold James Clark (+ Mary Elizabeth Peterson)
* 1893 - 1971 Muriel Augusta Clark (+ John Reardon)
* 1895 - 1975 Alice Bertha Amy Clark (+ Nobel Baxter)
* 1900 - 1900 Roy Arnold Vincent Clark (died aged 25 days)
* 1901 - 1951 Reginald Fordham Clark (Rev Clark died in Ilford, Essex)
* 1905 - 1975 Herbert Frederick Clark
RICHARD died 30 May 1916 in Dargaville aged 51

... 2
1867 - 1948 Priscilla Clark
PRISCILLA married Henry Spencer BERRIDGE (1863-1942) in 1889
- they had 2 known children:
* 1892 - Maud Berridge (+ Henry Thomas Stevens)
* 1899 - Reginald Spencer Berridge (+ Laura Elizabeth Graham)
PRISCILLA died aged 81


... 3
1869 - 1935 Eliza Jemima Clark
ELIZA married Robert Francis Skeffington HEMPHILL (1868-1939) in 1889
they had 3 known children:
* 1890 - 1971 Margaret Olive Hemphill (+ Peter Joseph McMahon)
* 1892 - 1975 Ellen Stuart Hemphill (+ Charles Clotworthy)
* 1898 - 1962 Robert Francis Hemphill
ELIZA died aged 66

... 4
1872 - 1963 Alice Elizabeth Clark
ALICE married Joseph Thomas BROWN (1868-1966) in 1891
- they had 5 known children:
* 1892 - 1966 Emily Gladys Brown (+ Hugh Murdoch Campbell)
* 1894 - 1970 Wilhemina Emma Brown (+Sydney Eric Hamlin +William Percival Wright)
* 1897 - 1959 Clara Brown (+ Eldred Irvine Flaws)
* 1903 - 1991 Alice May Brown (+ Alfred Trefusis Frood)
* 1905 - Katherine Marion Brown (+ Emanuel Shepherd)
ALICE died in Auckland aged 91

... 5
1874 - 1935 William Charles Clark
WILLIAM married Emily Margaret MORROW (1881-1970) in 1904
- they had 4 known children:
* 1906 - 1982 David William Clark (+ Edith McKinney)
* 1907 - Beryl Clark (+ Geoffrey Thomas Marks)
* 1909 - 1979 Albert Roy Clark
* 1911 - 1991 Emily Dorothy Ellen Clark
WILLIAM died in Northern Wairoa aged 61

... 6
1876 - 1964 Emily Amelia Clark
EMILY married Hector Henry SUTHERLAND (1866-1944) in 1895 in Tokatoka
- they had 8 known children:
* 1897 - 1944 Annie Wilhemina Sutherland (+ Andrew Robert Boyd)
* 1898 - 1873 John James Sutherland (+ Janie Aileen Sutherland)
* 1900 - 1909 Alice Breen Sutherland (Alice died aged 9)
* 1902 - 1998 Hector William Sutherland (+ Keitha Jane Spick)
* 1907 - 1965 Emily May Sutherland (+ Neil McMillan)
* 1909 - 1993 William Clark Sutherland
* 1911 - 1998 Myrtle Irene Sutherland (+ David Wilfred Pasley)
* 1913 - 1977 Gordon Hugh Sutherland
EMILY in 1964 aged 88

... 7
1879 - 1933 Edward Jowett Clark
EDWARD married Grace MORROW in 1910
- their known children:
* 1911 - 1979 Cyril Edward Clark
EDWARD died in 1933 aged 54

... 8
1882 - 1956 John Ernest Oswald Clark
JOHN married Norah Whitehead SAVILLE-JONES (1887-1982) in 1908
- they had 4 known children:
* 1908 - 1973 Charles William Clark (+ Doreen Inez Maisie Watson)
* 1910 - 1985 Wilhemina Etty Clark (+ Henry Oliver Berridge)
* 1912 - 2004 Eva Doris Clark (+ Houston)
* 1914 - 2003 Eileen Norah Clark (+ Sterling)
JOHN died in 1956 aged 74


WILLIAM's BIRTHDAYS
New Zealand Herald, 12 November 1928 RESIDENT OF PAPAROA
NINETY-ONE YEARS OLD - EARLY DAYS IN AUCKLAND
PAPAROA, Sunday - A number of people gathered in the Garrison Hall, Paparoa, at the week-end to honour the 91st birthday of Mr William Clark, formerly of Woodlands, Tokatoka. With his father, the late Mr Charles Clark. Mr Clark came to New Zealand in 1843 by the ship Indus, the second emigrant ship to come to Nelson. The family remained four years in Nelson and saw the beginnings of settlement, then they moved to Auckland. Mr Clark, sen., was engaged in and around Auckland for seven years, being frequently employed in pit-sawing at Freeman's Bay, Lucas Creek and elsewhere.

11 November 1930
On the occasion of his 93rd birthday on November 11, 1930, Mr Clark received many telegrams of congratulations, including messages from Their Excellencies, Lord, and the Lady Bledisloe. Many relatives and friends from all parts of the Dominion assembled at Paparoa to celebrate Mr Clark's birthday and the Rt. Hon. J. G. Coates extended congratulations on behalf of those present. Five generations were present at the gathering.

New Zealand Herald, 11 November 1931 OLD COLONIST
Mr WILLIAM CLARK - NINETY-FOURTH BIRTHDAY
One of New Zealand's oldest colonists, Mr William Clark, of Rehia, North Auckland, will celebrate his 94th birthday today. There will be a gathering of the family, consisting of five generations, at Paparoa to celebrate the occasion.


DEATHS of WILLIAM & WILHEMINA
Auckland Star, 5 July 1906 - DEATH
CLARK - On July 4, after a long and painful illness, Wilhemina, the beloved wife of William Clark, of Morningside, late of Rehia, Northern Wairoa. The funeral will leave her late residence at 2p.m. on Friday for Purewa Cemetery

New Zealand Herald, 27 August 1932
Mr WILLIAM CLARK - NORTH AUCKLAND PIONEER
DEATH AT NINETY-FOUR
One of New Zealand's oldest colonists, Mr William Clark, died yesterday at his home, Woodlands, Rehia, North Auckland, in his 95th year. He had spent nearly 90 years in the Dominion and was particularly well known in the North, where he had lived for 80 years.
Born in Halifax, Yorkshire, Mr. Clark arrived at Nelson with his parents in 1842 (sic) after a voyage of six months in the ship Indus, the second emigrant ship to go to Nelson. The family stayed in Nelson four years and then moved to Auckland, staying at the Ship Inn, then the only hotel in the town. Mr Clark's first employment was at a rope works in Mechanics Bay, where he worked 12 hours a day and six days a week for four shillings and sixpence. At the age of 15 he went pit-sawing with his father in the bush at Northern Wairoa. The trip from Auckland to Northern Wairoa took five days, Mr Clark and his father having to walk from Riverhead to Helensville and then travel on a whaleboat to Omana. In 1860 the Government opened the first land for selection scheme and Mr Clark's father bought a large section. A few years later Mr Clark moved to Whakahara, where he opened a general store and butchery. In 1864 he married Miss Wilhemina Paton, of Northern Wairoa and in 1886 he bought a farm at Rehia where he resided until his death. His home was often the stopping place of travellers and cattle dealers.
His wife died in 1906 and his father in 1909. Mr Clark is survived by a large family. The funeral will take place to-morrow at Purewa Cemetery.

WILLIAM & WILHEMINA are buried Plot 62, Row 29, Block D at Purewa cemetery

2 comment(s), latest 3 months ago

- O Jeanie leave your father's ha' - 1856

John BARR, poet (1809-1889) lived Kaihiku, Clutha + Dunedin, Otago from 1852

the biography of John BARR is on Dictionary of New Zealand from which I have taken parts of and put here

I found a poem he submitted to the 'Otago Witness' 19 April 1856 which I cannot find anywhere else so want to share with our readers

... John Barr was born on 24 October 1809 at Paisley, Renfrewshire, Scotland, the son of a manufacturer, James Barr and his wife, Rebecca Barr. He was educated at a parish school before entering the engineering trade, eventually establishing the firm Barr and McNab, which took on large shipbuilding contracts on the Clyde. On 11 April 1844, at Paisley, he married Mary Jamieson LAMB; they had at least two daughters and two sons. The closure of the firm following contract failures decided the Barrs on emigration, and in 1852 they sailed for New Zealand on the Dominion, arriving at Port Chalmers on 28 September. They settled on a farm at Halfway Bush, Wakari, later moving to a property at Kaihiku which they named Craigielee. About 1861 Barr sold the farm and retired to Dunedin. From the time of his arrival in the colony Barr enjoyed a successful career as a poet and achieved some eminence in Otago society ... Barr's enthusiasm for the potentials of the new colony is often grounded in a grim retrospection. The majority of his references to Home focus on the oppressiveness and injustices of the rigid class system he had left behind. A strongly egalitarian idealism emerges:
'Nae mair the laird comes for his rent,
When I hae nocht to pay, sirs.
Nae mair he'll tak me aff the loom,
To touch my hat, and boo to him';
and there are sharp contrasts between the helpless poverty of the British working classes and the prosperity of the settlers' lives:
'There's nae place like Otago yet,
There's nae wee beggar weans,
Or auld men shivering at our doors,
To beg for scraps or banes.
... read more at link above


Barr's Poems and songs are characterised by a strong Scottish identity, immediately evident in the language.
This is the poem published in the Otago Witness 19 April 1856
... O JEANIE LEAVE YOUR FATHER'S HA' ...
O Jeanie leave your father's ha',
And gang wi' me my dearie O
To yonder cot beside the burn
That wimples down sae clearly O,
There wild flowers deck the clay-built wa's,
There's nought to mak' you eerie O,
For love stands blinking at the door
To welcome you my dearie O.

The moon shines bright o'er yonder hill,
And stars are sparkling rarely O,
But your twa een outshine them a',
And that my heart kens sairly O;
O pledge your troth to me sweet lass,
There's witnesses abune us O,
Nae mair our loving hearts shall part,
Till death come in between us O.

She has pledged her troth in sweet embrace,
With joy their hearts are swelling O,
While crimson blushes on her cheek,
Their tale o' love are telling O.
Now Georgie in his humble ha'
Is happy late and early O;
There's mutual love between the twa,
Altho' they live but sparely O.

Then wha wad sigh for lordly ha's,
Wi' a' their pomp and splendour O,
And wha to mingle wi' the great
Wad peace o'mind surrender O;
He's happier far that ower the riggs
Gangs hame to his ain desire O;
In slumbers sweet he taks his rest,
And waukens blythe and cheerio O.

- J. B., Craigielee



NOTES
31 May 1856 - FOR SALE
... The property called Craigielee, situate in the Wakari District and containing 20 acres of land, and a weather-boarded house thereon. Ten acres of the land have been under the plough, 3 acres of which are now laid down in grass. There is abundance of timber and a fine stream of water upon the property. The price will be low and early occupation given. For particulars apply to Messrs Harris and Gillies, Dunedin
... this ad ran until October 1856 when it then read "To Sell or Let" and the ad was still running, and John Barr still living there, in May 1861 when John put it up for sale by Private Contract. By Feb 1862 John was in Dunedin when he printed a 'little volume' of poems, published in Edinburgh. The 'Otago Daily Times' wrote ... "quite irrespective of their local character, which endows them with a peculiar attraction, the Poems possess intrinsic merits in themselves which entitle them to rank high as literary productions"


In 1857 he moved with his wife Mary and their four children to Balclutha, and established a farm which he called Craigielee. He was the founder of the New Zealand Robert Burns Society

on September 18th 1889
at his residence, Ravensbourne, John Barr, Craigielee, in his 80th year ...

21 September 1889
Our obituary column this morning (says Thursday's Daily Times) contains intimation of the death, at the ripe age of 80 years, of Mr John Barr, well known by his territorial appellation of "Craigielea." The deceased gentleman was born in Scotland, and was for some years a member of the firm of Barr and McNab, engineers, Paisley. In 1852 he emigrated to Otago, "n order," to use his own words, "to hew out a home for himself and his family in the wilderness." In those early days of the settlement the figure of Mr Barr was well known, and not less widely than his genial humor and his talent for comprising songs and poems. Yhe fruits of his efforts in this direction he published in book form in 1861, and many of the pieces contain fine specimans of humor and satire. He settled at the Half-way Bush on his arrival, and afterwards removed to Kaihiku, where his farm was subsequently bought by the late Mr Kettle. Mr Barr then lived at the Water of Leith, and some few years back became the recipient of a considerable legacy, since which time he has lived a somewhat retired life, latterly at Ravensbourne, where he died yesterday. He is survived by Mrs Barr and two daughters, one of whom is married. There is no doubt that when the early history of Otago comes to be fully written, Mr Barr's name will be found prominent among those of the early settlers

9 November 1889
Mr John Barr, known in Dunedin as the "Water of Leith poet", died on September 18 at his residence, Ravensbourne, Otago. Mr Barr, who was eighty years of age when he died, was born in Paisley, Scotland, and arrived in New Zealand in 1852. He was an apt versifier, and some of his poems bore traces of deep feeling and great sympathy with nature. In 1861 he published a book of songs which is still to be found in Dunedin libraries. For many years he lived near the picturesque Water of Leith, until recently when he removed to Ravenshourne. Mr Barr had also an estate at Craigielea. In addition to his poems, Mr Barr was an occasional contributor to several New Zealand journals

11 November 1889
IN THE ESTATE OF JOHN BARR, late of Craigielea, deceased. All person having claims against the late Mr John Barr, of Craigielea, are requested to send in their accounts to the Executors, care of the Perpetual Trustees Company, before the 15th inst., otherwise they will not be recognised. Walter Hislop, John McFarlane, Executors


If you know who his children were, or if you're a descendant, we would like to hear more. Please leave comments below



PICTURE
Portrait of John Barr published in Otago Punch, 9 February 1867
taken from top link

last updated 22-9-12


.JICKELL marriages New Zealand 1905 - 1922

some JICKELL marriages New Zealand 1905 - 1922:

Elizabeth Jane Jickell
- married Donald FRASER in 1917

Emily Jickell
- married Frederick William DIXON in 1921

Isabel Jickell
- married George CROFT in 1905

James Jickell
- married Janet Mary Stranghan AMESS in 1920

Margaret Jickell
- married Charles Urynne MacGOWAN in 1908

Margaret Jickell
- married Charles William BLACKBOURN in 1922

.some DONGHI marriages New Zealand 1901 - 1927

some DONGHI marriages New Zealand 1901 - 1927

Albert Edward Donghi
- married Dorothy Mary Roberts in 1923

August Donghi
- married Teresa Fontana in 1913

Charles William Donghi
- married Minnie McNutt in 1917

George Donghi
- married Mary Elizabeth McHardy in 1902

George Donghi
- married Anna Mary Tait in 1921

Giovanni Donghi
- married Giovanna Caloia in 1927

Harry Alexander Donghi
- married Gladys Geraldine Rennett in 1916

Ivy Elizabeth Gertrude Donghi
- married Archibald Mudgway in 1925

John Henry Donghi
- John was born 1890 in Makotuku, Hawkes Bay
- son of Guiseppe Giovanni DONGHI of Vittoune, Milan, Lombardia, Italy and Emma Sarah HANCOCK
- married Sara Roberts 'Sadie' Squire 23 December 1916 in Dannevirke
- Sara was born 1894 in Waiiti, Timaru, 7th of 8 children to Henry SQUIRE of Launcells, Cornwall, England (arried 1874 on the 'Pheiades') and Martha Rebecca FORD
- the 4 known children of John & Sara, born in Waipawa:
1919 - Douglas Ronald Donghi
1920 - Joseph Henry Donghi
1921 - John James Donghi
1926 - Stanley Gordon Donghi

Louisa Donghi
- married Peter Lawson Beck in 1901

Louisa Jane Donghi
- married Robert Broadbent in 1924

Mary Elizabeth Donghi
- married Adolf Gunerigus Knudsen in 1902

Robert Samuel Donghi
- married Emily Elizabeth Myrtle Maulder in 1927