<< Previous - Next >>

Gwa Leng Wongs in New Zealand

Journal by NZBC

The Gwa Leng NZ Family History Group,founded by Michael Wong, is delighted to advise that the book Gwa Leng Wongs in
New Zealand is now available for purchase.

'It takes a village to raise a child', says the proverb. Gwa Leng, in the southern province of Guangdong, China, is a special village for
many in NZ; and some of its children - now elders themselves in a faraway land - have contributed to this special book to tell the
history and the stories of the village and its people.

Authored by ex-villager Dr Edmon Wong, an eminent former scientist, the book is centered on his translation of the only known
copy of Gwa Leng's original genealogical record. From material collated from disparate sources, he also writes about
origins; about places and events; and about families long ago and today.

This is a friendly elder's guide for younger generations interested in their historical roots.

With sincerity and goodwill, and mostly in their own words and pictures, many of these later generation NZ Gwa Leng families share their own recent day stories with the three contributing authors in a latter part of the book.

For historical accuracy, the book uses written Chinese characters (not just romanised transliterations) for original proper names. For readers of Chinese, it also includes an appendix of a collection of Essays on Gwa Leng by the former administrative head of Gwa Leng.
This unique bilingual book is a legacy that both honours those past, and serves those present and still to come.
---------------------------------------------------------------
Paper Back: 180 pages
ISBN 978-0-473-16525-3
Book Dimensions: 189 X 268 X12 mm

Surnames: Wong
Viewed: 918 times
by NZBC Profile | Research | Contact | Subscribe | Block this user
on 2011-06-10 18:29:28

NZBC , from New Zealand, has been a Family Tree Circles member since Mar 2009. is researching the following names: CHAN, WONG, .

Do you know someone who can help? Share this:

Comments

by NZBC on 2011-06-10 18:30:15

There are just a few copies left - from the second print run.

by NZBC on 2011-12-09 22:44:44

Third print has been completed - so over to the next generation now to get your copy. Limited numbers left: helendotfamilytreeatgmaildotcom

Register or Sign in to comment on this journal.