PETONE Branch - Hibernian Australasian Society 1910 :: Genealogy
<< Previous - Next >>

PETONE Branch - Hibernian Australasian Society 1910

Journal by ngairedith

I have taken some extracts from the Hutt City Library site from the page
Lower Hutt Past and Present (1941)

I highly recommend a visit to their site for some wonderful info and photos of that district and the early settlers.

I am doing some short overviews from their database:

journal 1 - settlers of LOWER HUTT 1839 - 1941

journal 2 - the PILGRIM MOTHERS of the Hutt Valley

journal 3 - PETONE's first 100 years, - list of names

journal 4 - PETONE men who fell WWI - list of names

journal 5 - FREEMASONRY - Ulster Lodge No. 62

journal 6 - LOYAL PETONE LODGE - No, 6542

journal 7 - Ancient Order Of Foresters - COURT EPUNI, 7314


journal 9 - PETONE Branch - Hibernian Australasian Society 1910

journal 10 - PETONE PIONEER BRANCH - Oddfellows


journal 12 - PONEKE LODGE - Ancient Order of DRUIDS

journal 13 - PETONE Town Board - formed 1881

journal 14 - HUTT RIVER BOARD - formed 1879

(additions in italics or capitals are mine)
- (remember the article was written in 1941)


... The Petone Branch of the Hibernian Society was opened on Sunday, September 18 1910, under the name of "Sacred Heart Branch No. 533."

Twelve members were initiated and the first president was Bro. FLORENCE McCARTHY, who still takes an active part in the management of the Branch. Brother JOHN LINEHAM assumed the office of secretary and held this position with a short intermission, until 1925. Brother LINEHAN now resides in Auckland, where he is still active in the affairs of the Society.

The history of the Branch is not marked by any highlights, but it can be said that, during an eventful period in history, it carried out its functions faithfully and well. Many of its members proceeded on active service during the Great War and those left at home kept the Branch going successfully during a difficult period when many Lodges were forced to close their doors.

The present membership is 100, including an active group of the younger generation, who work well in the social sphere.

The frequent interchange of visits, with indoor bowls as the main attraction, has built up a fine spirit of friendship with all other Lodges in Petone and this spirit has been of great benefit to the movement generally.

On the business side, the branch has been well to the fore. Apart from the provision of benefits for its own members, it took an active part in the establishment of the Petone dispensary and has ever since assisted in the management of this institution, of which Bro. G. C. PEARCE is vice-president and a trustee. Brother PEARCE is also a grand trustee of the society, while the branch secretary, Bro. J. T. CARR., is grand secretary of the society in New Zealand and a vice-president of the Dominion Council of Friendly Societies.

The first chaplain of the branch was Father James Joseph McMENAMIN, whose memory is still revered in Petone, as a devoted priest who gave his life while ministering to the dying on the field of battle at Messines.

Father McMenamin was succeeded as chaplain by Father QUEALY, who continued in this office for over twenty years, until his departure from Petone some four years ago. The present chaplain is Father O'DONNELL.

The present officers of the Branch are:
* Chaplain, Rev. Father W. E. O'DONNELL;
* president, H. L. J. MAY.
* vice-president, T. A. DOUGLAS;
* past president, N. McARTNEY.
* secretary, J. T. CARR;
* treasurer and sick visitor, Sister M. O. LEARY;
* warden, A. G. McLAUCHLN;
* guardian, R. H. O'NEILL;
* sick visitors, G. HEPBURN and B. G. BEVANS;
* trustees, F. McCARTHY, G. C. PEARCE and F. R. FOREMAN;
* Auditors, H. H. BUTLER and A. G. McLAUCHLAN

The following have filled the office of President during the history of the Branch:
* F. McCARTHY, 191011-3135;
* J. LINEHAN, 191226;
* L. STEWART, 191221;
* R. MOORE, 1913;
* C. O'SHEA, 191314;
* L. OKEBY, 1914; J. Roper, 1915;
* F. J. O'LEARY, 191516;
* F. GREHAN, 191617;
* J. CORBISHLEY, 1918;
* W. FITZGERALD, 1919;
* H. D. YOUNG., 1919;
* T. DUIGNAN, 1920;
* W. RYAN, 1920;
* H. W. BARRY., 1921;
* D. J. P. HICKEY., 192232-33;
* R. A. DELANY., 192223;
* G. C. PEARCE., 192324-35;
* J. KEANE, 1924;
* D. McCARTHY, 1925;
* R. J. McKEE., 1927;
* K. W. FRANCE., 1928;
* W. J. LARACY., 1928;
* Sister M. HIGGINS, 1929;
* F. R. FOREMAN., 193032;
* Sister A. YOUNG, 1930;
* J. T. CARR., 1933;
* H. H. BUTLER., 1934;
* B. G. BEVANS., 1936;
* G. HEPBURN, 1937;
* N. McARTNEY, 1938;
* H. L. J. MAY., 1939.

Six members have filled the office of Secretary, namely:
* J. LINEHAN (191011 and 191225)
* R. MOORE (1912)
* J. T. CARR (192530 and 193439)
* Sister M. HIGGINS (1931)
* R. M. MOSS (193133)
* W. P. COLES (193334)

by ngairedith Profile | Research | Contact | Subscribe | Block this user
on 2011-06-04 02:39:04


Do you know someone who can help? Share this:


Register or Sign in to comment on this journal.